



#### **BMAS FINAL MINUTES**

Tuesday, September 17, 2024 10:00 AM

A quorum of the Board of Medical Assistance Services attended the meeting at the Department of Medical Assistance Services (DMAS) offices at 600 East Broad Street, Richmond. A web-ex option was also available for members of the Board and the public to attend virtually.

**Present:** Tim Hanold, Jennifer Clarke, Jason Brewster, Margaret Roomsburg, Paul Hogan, Bernie Boone, Vienne Murray, Joye Moore

**Present Virtually**: Ashish Kachru

Absent: Basim Khan, Patricia Cook

**DMAS Attendees:** Cheryl Roberts-DMAS Director, Tammy Whitlock – Deputy Complex Care Services, Adrienne Fegans -Deputy for Programs, Chris Gordon-Deputy for Finance, John Kissel-Deputy for Technology & Innovation, Ivory Banks – Chief of Staff, Rich Rosendahl- Deputy for Health Economics and Economic Policy-Virtually, Lisa Price-Stevens, MD-Chief Medical Officer, Truman Horwitz, Director of Budget, Craig Markva – OSHHR Assistant Secretary, Brian McCormick- Director Legislative and Intergovernmental Affairs, Emily McClellan-Policy Division Director, Morgan Greer- Board counsel and Brooke Barlow- Board Secretary.

**Other Attendees:** Margaret Kosherzenko, Center for Medicare and Medicaid Services, Nicole McKnight, Center for Medicare and Medicaid Services, Anna Garrett, Sarah Haggie, Montserrat Serra, John Stanwix.

**Virtual Attendees:** Alexander Macauley, Caroline Faber, Cathy Jones, Dyaln Bishop, Joy Spencer, Karin Roth, Kedra Keith, Kerdijah Mitchell, Kim Jones, Leticia Rasnick, Linda Hines, Meredith Lee, Michael Cook, Michael Haggins, Molly Dean, Steve Ford, Suzanne Gore, Vanessa Lane.

## 1. Call to Order

Tim Hanold, Board Chair, called for a motion by the Board to open the regular meeting of the Board of Medical Assistance Services at 10:06 am on September 17, 2024, at 600 East Broad Street, Conference Rooms A & B, Richmond, Virginia 23219.

Moved by Jason Brewster; 10:06 am; seconded by Margaret Roomsburg.

# 2. Approval of Minutes

The minutes from the June 18, 2024 meeting were introduced and approved.

Moved by Vienne Murray; seconded by Jennifer Clarke to Approve Motion Passed: 8 - 0 Voting For: Tim Hanold, Bernie Boone, Vienne Murray, Jennifer Clarke, Jason Brewster,

Margaret Roomsburg, Paul Hogan, Joye Moore

Voting Against: None

Absent: Patricia Cook, Basim Khan

Virtual: Ashish Kachru

## 3. Director's Report

Director Roberts presented to the Board an overview of Medicaid, program updates, along with program updates for the Executive Leadership Team. Director Roberts reviewed the DMAS mission and values, who we cover, covered services, Medicaid finance update, expenditures and program updates.

# 4. Enhancing Language and Disability Access in Virginia Medicaid

This presentation was postponed to the December 10, 2025 meeting.

#### 5. Introduction of New Board Member

New Board Member Joye B. Moore introduced herself and was welcomed by the Board.

### 6. Member Communication

Adrienne Fegans, Deputy Director of Programs discussed the parameters for discussion by the Board members. Two parameters were 1) What can we do with the member vs. what can we do for the member 2) You have to give feedback. There was discussion regarding social media, apps and the website.

#### 7. Aspirin Reveal

Dr. Lisa Stevens, Chief Medical Officer, gave an overview of the aspirin initiative.

# 8. Dashboards

Rich Rosendahl, Deputy Director for Healthcare Analytics & Transformation, gave an overview of the HEDIS Dashboard, Nursing Facility Value-Based Purchasing Dashboard and the Waiver Services Dashboard.

## 9. Finance

Truman Horwitz, Budget Division Director presented on the Five-Year Expenditure comparison and the Forecast to actual for FY 2025. In summary, the financial data shows a variance from forecast due to slower unwinding/the knock-on effects of the actions taken in FY24 and this will influence the Forecast and the ultimate need outlined in the Budget Process.

### 10. New Business/Old Business

## 11. Public Comment - No public comments

**12. Regulations** – Regulations were presented to the Board and posted to Townhall.

# 13. Adjournment

Moved by Jennifer Clarke; seconded by Margaret Roomsburg to Approve Motion Passed: 8 - 0 Voting For: Tim Hanold, Bernie Boone, Vienne Murray, Jennifer Clarke, Jason Brewster,

Margaret Roomsburg, Paul Hogan, Joye Moore

Voting Against: None

Absent: Patricia Cook, Basim Khan

Virtual: Ashish Kachru