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Dear Mr. McMiillion:

Attached for your review and approval is amendment 24-0003, entitled “Non-
Institutional Provider Reimbursement Changes” to the Plan for Medical Assistance for
the Commonwealth. | request that your office approve this change as quickly as

possible.
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IDENTIFICATION INFORMATION

Title of Amendment: Non-Institutional Provider Reimbursement Changes

SYNOPSIS
Basis and Authority: The Code of Virginia (1950) as amended, § 32.1-325, grants to the Board

of Medical Assistance Services the authority to administer and amend the Plan for Medical
Assistance. The Code of Virginia (1950) as amended, § 32.1-324, authorizes the Director of
the Department of Medical Assistance Services (DMAS) to administer and amend the Plan for

Medical Assistance according to the Board's requirements.

Purpose: The 2023 Appropriations Act requires DMAS to make the following changes:

a.

[tem 304 TTTT: The state plan is being revised to increase the reimbursement rates for
Early Intervention services, excluding case management, by 12.5 percent for all children
under age three enrolled in Early Intervention in Virginia Medicaid.

[tem 304, VVVV I: The state plan is being revised to increase rates by 10 percent for the
following Medicaid-funded community-based services: Intensive In-Home, Mental Health
Skill Building, Psychosocial Rehabilitation, Therapeutic Day Treatment, Outpatient
Psychotherapy, Peer Recovery Support Services -- Mental Health.

Item 304.VVVV.2: The state plan is being revised to increase rates by 10 percent for the
following Medicaid-funded community-based services: Comprehensive Crisis Services
(which include 23-hour Crisis Stabilization, Community Stabilization, Crisis Intervention,
Mobile Crisis Response, and Residential Crisis Stabilization), Assertive Community
Treatment, Mental Health - Intensive Outpatient, Mental Health - Partial Hospitalization,
Family Functional Therapy and Multisystemic Therapy.

Item 304 WWWW: The state plan is being revised to increase the rates for mental health
partial hospitalization from a per diem rate of $250.62 to $500.00 and shall increase the rate
for mental health intensive outpatient programs from a per diem of $159.20 to $250.00.

Item 304.YYYY: The state plan is being revised to increase the rates for agency and
consumer-directed personal care services by five percent. (A corresponding rate increase
of 5% will be provided for personal care services and for companion and respite services
provided under home and community-based waivers, however, the increase is not included
in this state plan amendment but via waiver documentation.)

Substance and Analysis: The section of the State Plan that is affected by this amendment is

“Methods and Standards for Establishing Payment Rate — Other Types of Care”



Impact:

a.

Item 304.TTTT: The expected increase in annual aggregate fee-for-service expenditures is
$8,995 in state general funds and $9,445 in federal funds in federal fiscal year 2024,

Item 304. VVVV.1: The expected increase in annual aggregate fee-for-service expenditures
is $131,548 in state general funds, $9,605 in special funds, and $224,573 in federal funds
in federal fiscal year 2024.

Item 304.VVVV.2: The expected increase in annual aggregate fee-for-service expenditures
is $43,903 in state general funds, $8,434 in special funds, and $122,004 in federal funds in
federal fiscal year 2024,

[tem 304. WWWW: The expected increase in annual aggregate fee-for-service expenditures
is $4,118 in state general funds, $844 in special funds, and $11,922 in federal funds in
federal fiscal year 2024.

Item 304.YYYY: The expected increase in annual aggregate fee-for-service expenditures is
$1,187 in state general funds and $1,246 in federal funds in federal fiscal year 2024.

Tribal Notice: Please see attached.

Prior Public Notice: Sce Attached.

Public Comments and Agency Analysis: Plcase see attached.




12/15/23, 3:24 PM Mail - Lee, Meredith (DMAS) - Outlook

Tribal Notice - Non-Institutional Provider Reimbursement Changes

Lee, Meredith (DMAS) <Meredith.Lee@dmas.virginia.gov>

Fri 12/15/2023 3:19 PM

To:TribalOffice@MonacanNation.com <TribalOffice@MonacanNation.com>;Ann Richardson <chiefannerich@aol.com>;Gerald
Stewart <jerry.stewart@cit-ed.org>;pamelathompson4@yahoo.com (pamelathompson4@yahoo.com)
<pamelathompson4@yahoo.com>;rappahannocktrib@aol.com (rappahannocktrib@aol.com) <rappahannocktrib@aol.com>;
Reggie Stewart <regstew007@gmail.com>;Gray, Robert <robert.gray@pamunkey.org>;Adrian Compton
<tribaladmin@monacannation.com>;chiefstephenadkins@gmail.com (chiefstephenadkins@gmail.com)
<chiefstephenadkins@gmail.com>;bradbybrown@gmail.com (bradbybrown@gmail.com) <bradbybrown@gmail.com>;
tabitha.garrett@ihs.gov (tabitha.garrett@ihs.gov) <tabitha.garrett@ihs.gov>;kara.kearns@ihs.gov (kara.kearns@ihs.gov)
<kara.kearns@ihs.gov>;Mia Eubank (mia.eubank@ihs.gov) <mia.eubank@ihs.gov>;davehennaman@gmail.com
<davehennaman@gmail.com>;administrator@nansemond.gov <administrator@nansemond.gov>;info@afwellness.com
<info@afwellness.com>;info@fishingpointhc.com <info@fishingpointhc.com>;contact@Nansemond.gov
<contact@Nansemond.gov>;brandon.custalow@mattaponination.com <brandon.custalow@mattaponination.com>;
admin@umitribe.org <admin@umitribe.org>

0 1 attachments (224 KB)
Tribal_Notice_letter_V.2 _SignedCR pdf;

Dear Tribal Leaders and Indian Health Programs:

Attached is a Tribal Notice letter from Virginia Medicaid Acting Director Cheryl

Roberts indicating that the Dept. of Medical Assistance Services (DMAS) plans to submit a
State Plan Amendment (SPA) to the federal Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services. This
SPA will allow DMAS to make non-institutional provider reimbursement changes as a result of
items in the 2023 Appropriations Act.

If you would like a copy of the SPA documents or proposed text changes, or if you have any
questions, please let us know.

Thank you! -- Meredith Lee

Meredith Lee

Division of Policy, Regulation, and Member Engagement
Policy, Regulations, and Manuals Supervisor
Department of Medical Assistance Services

Hours: 7:00 am - 3:30 pm (Monday-Friday)
meredith.lee@dmas.virginia.gov

(804) 371-0552

VIRGINIA'S MEDICAID PROGRAM

Improving the health and well-being

DMAS of Virginians through access to high
quality health care coverage

SERVICE = COLLABORATION = TRUST = ADAPTABILITY = PROBLEM-S5OLVING

https://outlook.office365.com/mail/sentitems/id/AAMKAGIXMzZmZGQ1LWRmMYzktiNGEwZi1hMTFILTM5MjAzNzYyZjA2YwBGAAAAAAD2SErPMIzdTJ... 7



CHERYL J.
DIRECTOR

COMMONWEALTH of VIRGINIA

ROBERTS Department of Medical Assistance Services SUITE 1300
600 EAST BROAD STREET
RICHMOND, VA 23219

804/786-7933
800/343-0634 (TDD)
www.dmas.virginia.gov

December 15, 2023

SUBJECT: Notice of Opportunity for Tribal Comment — State Plan Amendment related to
Non-Institutional Provider Reimbursement Changes.

Dear Tribal Leader and Indian Health Programs:

This letter is to notify you that the Department of Medical Assistance Services (DMAS) is
planning to amend the Virginia State Plan for Medical Assistance with the Centers for Medicare
and Medicaid Services (CMS). Specifically, DMAS is providing you notice about a State Plan
Amendment (SPA) that the Agency will file with CMS in order to make changes to non-
institutional provider reimbursement as a result of items in the 2023 Appropriations Act. These
items include:

Item 304.TTTT: The state plan is being revised to increase the reimbursement rates for Early
Intervention services, excluding case management, by 12.5 percent for all children under age three
enrolled in Early Intervention in Virginia Medicaid.

Item 304. VVVV.1: The state plan is being revised to increase rates by 10 percent for the following
Medicaid-funded community-based services: Intensive In-Home, Mental Health Skill Building,
Psychosocial Rehabilitation, Therapeutic Day Treatment, Outpatient Psychotherapy, Peer Recovery
Support Services -- Mental Health.

Item 304.VVVVVV.2: The state plan is being revised to increase rates by 10 percent for the following
Medicaid-funded community-based services: Comprehensive Crisis Services (which include 23-hour
Crisis Stabilization, Community Stabilization, Crisis Intervention, Mobile Crisis Response, and
Residential Crisis Stabilization), Assertive Community Treatment, Mental Health - Intensive
Outpatient, Mental Health - Partial Hospitalization, Family Functional Therapy and Multisystemic
Therapy.

Item 304.WWWW: The state plan is being revised to increase the rates for mental health partial
hospitalization from a per diem rate of $250.62 to $500.00 and shall increase the rate for mental
health intensive outpatient programs from a per diem of $159.20 to $250.00.

Item 304.YYYY: The state plan is being revised to increase the rates for agency and consumer-
directed personal care, care services by five percent. (A corresponding rate increase of 5% will be
provided for personal care services and for companion and respite services provided under home
and community-based waivers, however, the increase is not included in this state plan amendment but
via waiver documentation.)


http://www.dmas.virginia.gov/

We realize that the changes in this SPA may not have a significant impact on tribal providers, as
the Tribes are paid at the federal All Inclusive Rate (AIR), however, we encourage you to let us
know if you have any comments or questions. The tribal comment period for this SPA is open
through January 14, 2024. Y ou may submit your comments directly to Meredith Lee, DMAS Policy,
Regulation, and Member Engagement Division, by phone (804) 371-0552, or via email:
Meredith.Lee@dmas.virginia.gov. Finally, if you prefer regular mail you may send your comments
or questions to:

Virginia Department of Medical Assistance Services
Attn: Meredith Lee
600 East Broad StreetRichmond, VA 23219

Please forward this information to any interested party.

Sincerely,

Conl >

Cheryl J. Roberts



1/5/24, 11:46 AM Virginia Regulatory Town Hall View General Notice
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NI/ REGUIATORY TOWN HALL

RLCTIEANY Department of Medical Assistance Services
Board of Medical Assistance Services

@ Edit Notice

General Notice

Public Notice - Intent to Amend State Plan - Non-Institutional Provider
Reimbursement Changes

Date Posted: 12/1/2023
Expiration Date: 6/1/2024
Submitted to Registrar for publication: YES

30 Day Comment Forum closed. Began on 12/1/2023 and ended 12/31/2023

LEGAL NOTICE
COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA
DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE SERVICES

NOTICE OF INTENT TO AMEND
(Pursuant to §1902(a)(13) of the Act (U.S.C. 1396a(a)(13))

THE VIRGINIA STATE PLAN FOR MEDICAL ASSISTANCE
This Notice was posted on December 1, 2023

The Virginia Department of Medical Assistance Services (DMAS) hereby affords the public notice of its
intention to amend the Virginia State Plan for Medical Assistance to provide for changes to the Methods
and Standards for Establishing Payment Rates — Other Types of Care (12 VAC 30-80).

This notice is intended to satisfy the requirements of 42 C.F.R. § 447.205 and of § 1902(a)(13) of the Social
Security Act, 42 U.S.C. § 1396a(a)(13). A copy of this notice is available for public review from Meredith
Lee, DMAS, 600 Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, or via e-mail at:
Meredith.Lee@dmas.virginia.gov.

DMAS is specifically soliciting input from stakeholders, providers and beneficiaries, on the
potential impact of the proposed changes discussed in this notice. Comments or inquiries may be
submitted, in writing, within 30 days of this notice publication to Meredith Lee and such comments are
available for review at the same address. Comments may also be submitted, in writing, on the Town Hall
public comment forum attached to this notice.

This notice is available for public review on the Regulatory Town Hall (https://townhall.virginia.gov) on
the General Notices page, found at: https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/generalnotice.cfm

Methods & Standards for Establishing Payment Rates-Other Types of Care (12 VAC 30-80)

1. In accordance with the 2023 Special Session, Iltem 304.TTTT, the state plan is being revised to
increase the reimbursement rates for Early Intervention services, excluding case management,

https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewNotice.cfm?gnid=2726 1/3



1/5/24, 11:46 AM Virginia Regulatory Town Hall View General Notice
by 12.5 percent for all children under age three enrolled in Early Intervention in Virginia Medicaid.

The expected increase in annual aggregate fee-for-service expenditures is $8,995 in state
general funds and $9,445 in federal funds in federal fiscal year 2024.

2. In accordance with the 2023 Special Session, Item 304. VVVV.1, the state plan is being revised
to increase rates by 10 percent for the following Medicaid-funded community-based services:
Intensive In-Home, Mental Health Skill Building, Psychosocial Rehabilitation, Therapeutic Day
Treatment, Outpatient Psychotherapy, Peer Recovery Support Services -- Mental Health.

The expected increase in annual aggregate fee-for-service expenditures is $131,548 in state
general funds, $9,605 in special funds, and $224,573 in federal funds in federal fiscal year 2024.

3. In accordance with the 2023 Special Session, Item 304.VVVV.2, the state plan is being revised to
increase rates by 10 percent for the following Medicaid-funded community-based services:
Comprehensive Crisis Services (which include 23-hour Crisis Stabilization, Community
Stabilization, Crisis Intervention, Mobile Crisis Response, and Residential Crisis Stabilization),
Assertive Community Treatment, Mental Health - Intensive Outpatient, Mental Health - Partial
Hospitalization, Family Functional Therapy and Multisystemic Therapy.

The expected increase in annual aggregate fee-for-service expenditures is $43,903 in state
general funds, $8,434 in special funds, and $122,004 in federal funds in federal fiscal year 2024.

4. In accordance with the 2023 Special Session, Item 304.WWWW, the state plan is being revised
to increase the rates for mental health partial hospitalization from a per diem rate of $250.62 to
$500.00 and shall increase the rate for mental health intensive outpatient programs from a per
diem of $159.20 to $250.00.

The expected increase in annual aggregate fee-for-service expenditures is $4,118 in state
general funds, $844 in special funds, and $11,922 in federal funds in federal fiscal year 2024.

5. In accordance with the 2023 Special Session, Item 304.YYYY, the state plan is being revised to
increase the rates for agency and consumer-directed personal care services by five percent. (A
corresponding rate increase of 5% will be provided for personal care services and for companion
and respite services provided under home and community- based waivers, however, the increase
is not included in this state plan amendment but via waiver documentation.)

The expected increase in annual aggregate fee-for-service expenditures is $1,187 in state
general funds and $1,246 in federal funds in federal fiscal year 2024.

Contact Information

Name / Title: Meredith Lee / Policy, Regulations, and Manuals Supervisor
Address: 600 E. Broad St., Suite 1300
Richmond, 23219
Email Meredith.Lee@dmas.virginia.gov
Address:
Telephone: (804)371-0552 FAX: (804)786-1680 TDD: (800)343-0634

This general notice was created by Meredith Lee on 12/01/2023 at 6:23am
This general notice was last modified by Meredith Lee on 12/01/2023 at 6:25am

https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewNotice.cfm?gnid=2726 2/3
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Find a Commonwealth Resource

Public comment forums

Make your voice heard! Public comment forums allow all Virginia's citizens to Recently closed
participate in making and changing our state regulations.

Recently opened
See our public comment policy.

. L More filter options
Currently showing 18 comment forums closed within the last 21 days

Regulatory Activity Forums (10) | Guidance Document Forums (8)

Board of Medical Assistance Services

View Public Notice - Intent to Amend | General Notice
Comments | State Plan - Non-Institutional Public Notice - Intent to Amend State Plan -

Provider Reimbursement Non-Institutional Provider Reimbursement
Changes Changes

Closed: 0 comments
12/31/23



Attachment 4.19-B
Page 5.1

STATE PLANUNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT

State of VIRGINIA

METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATE-
OTHER TYPES OF CARE

6.A. 3. Mental health services
a. Professional services furnished by non-physicians, as described in 3.1A&B, Supplement 1,
page 7 and page 11. These services are reimbursed using CPT codes. The agency’s fee
schedule rate is based on the methodology described in Attachment 4-19B, page 48 4.11,
section 6
(A) 1.

(i) Services provided by licensed clinical psychologists shall be reimbursed at 90% of the
reimbursement rate for psychiatrists in Attachment 4-19B, page 4-8 4.11, section 6
(A) 1.

(ii) Services provided by independently enrolled licensed clinical social workers, licensed
professional counselors, licensed clinical nurse specialists-psychiatric, or licensed
marriage and family therapists shall be reimbursed at 75% of the reimbursement rate for
licensed clinical psychologists.

b. Intensive In-Home, as defined per Supplement 1 to Attachment 3.1A&B, Supplement 1, page
6.0.2, and provided by the individuals who are listed in Attachment 3.1A&B, Supplement 1,
page 6.0.3 and defined in Attachment 3.1A&B, Supplement 1, page 6.0.1, is reimbursed on an
hourly unit of service. The Agency's rates were set as of Juby-1-2022 January 1, 2024, and
are effective for services on or after that date.

c. Therapeutic Day Treatment, as defined per Supplement 1 to Attachment 3.1A&B, page 6.0.4,
and provided by the individuals who are listed in Attachment 3.1A&B, Supplement 1, page 6.1
and defined in Attachment 3.1A&B, Supplement 1, page 6.0.1,is reimbursed based on the
following units of service: One unit = 2 to 2.99 hours; Two units = 3 to 4.99 hours; Three units
=5 plus hours. No room and board is included in the rates for therapeutic day treatment. The
Agency's rates were set as of Juby-1,2022 January 1, 2024, and are effective for services on or after
that date.

d. Therapeutic Group Home services (formerly called Level A and Level B group home services),
as defined per Supplement 1 to Attachment 3.1A&B, page 6.2, shall be reimbursed based on a
daily unit of service. No room and board is included in the rates for therapeutic group home
services. The Agency’s rates were set as of July 1, 2022, and are effective for services on or
after that date.

TN No. _22-0018 Approval Date March 13, 223 Effective Date 07-01-22
Supersedes
TN No.  17-009



Attachment 4.19-B
Page 5.2

STATEPLANUNDER TITLE XIXOF THE SOCIALSECURITY ACT
State of VIRGINIA
METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATE -
OTHER TYPES OF CARE

d-1. Mental Health Intensive Outpatient services are reimbursed based on a per-diem unit that accounts
for the wages, employee costs, and other allowable costs associated with providing this service. The rate
for this service does not include costs related to room and board or other unallowable facility costs. Except
as otherwise noted in the plan, state-developed fee schedule rates are the same for both governmental and
private providers. The Agency's fee schedule rate was set as of Juby-14,2022 January 1, 2024, and is
effective for services on or after that date. All rates are published on the agency’s website at
https://www.dmas.virginia.gov/for-providers/procedure-fee-files-cpt-codes/ - go to the header for
HCPC Codes and look for this service.

d-2. Residential Crisis Stabilization is reimbursed based on a per-diem unit. The rate for this service
does not include costs related to roomand board or other unallowable facility costs. Except as otherwise
noted in the plan, state-developed fee schedule rates are the same for both governmental and private
providers. The Agency's fee schedule rate was set as of July-1-2022 January 1, 2024 and is effective
for services on or after that date. All rates are published on the agency’s website at
https://www.dmas.virginia.gov/for- providers/procedure-fee-files-cpt-codes/ - go to the header for
HCPC Codes and look for this service.

d-3. 23-Hour Residential Crisis Stabilization is a form of Residential Crisis Stabilization that is
provided as a 23-hour service and is reimbursed on a per-diem unit. The rate for this service does not
include costs related to room and board or other unallowable facility costs. Exceptas otherwise noted in
the plan, state-developed fee schedule rates are the same for both governmental and private providers.
The Agency's fee schedule rate was set as of Juhy-1-2022 January 1, 2024 and is effective for services
on or after that date. All rates are published on the agency’s website at
https://www.dmas.virginia.gov/for- providers/procedure-fee-files-cpt-codes/ - go to the header for
HCPC Codes and look for this service.

d-4. Multisystemic Therapy is reimbursed based on a 15-minute unit of service. Except as otherwise
noted in the plan, state-developed fee schedule rates are the same for both governmental and private
providers. The Agency's fee schedule rate was set as of Juhy-1,-2022 January 1, 2024, and is effective
for services on or after that date. All rates are published on the agency’s website at
https://www.dmas.virginia.gov/for- providers/procedure-fee-files-cpt-codes/ - go to the header for
HCPC Codes and look for this service.

d-5. Functional Family Therapy is reimbursed based on a 15-minute unit of service. Except as otherwise
noted in the plan, state-developed fee schedule rates are the same for both governmental and private
providers. The Agency's fee schedule rate was set as of Juhy-14,-2022 January 1, 2024, and is effective
for services on or after that date. All rates are published on the agency’s website at
https://www.dmas.virginia.gov/for- providers/procedure-fee-files-cpt-codes/ - go to the header for
HCPC Codes and look for this service.

TN No. 22-0018 Approval Date M ar ¢ h 13, 2023 Effective Date _ 07/01/2022
Supersedes
TN No. 21-023


http://www.dmas.virginia.gov/for-providers/procedure-fee-files-cpt-codes/
http://www.dmas.virginia.gov/for-
http://www.dmas.virginia.gov/for-
http://www.dmas.virginia.gov/for-
http://www.dmas.virginia.gov/for-

Attachment 4.19-B
Page 6

STATEPLANUNDER TITLE XIXOF THE SOCIALSECURITY ACT
State of VIRGINIA
METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATE -
OTHER TYPES OF CARE

. Mental Health Partial Hospitalization Program services are reimbursed based on a per diem unit that accounts
for the wages, employee costs, and other allowable costs associated with providing this service. The rate for
this service does not include costs related to room and board or other unallowable facility costs. Except as
otherwise noted in the plan, state-developed fee schedule rates are the same for both governmental and private
providers. The Agency's fee schedule rate was set as of Juhy-1,-2022 January 1, 2024, and is effective for
services on or after that date. All rates are published on the agency’s website at
https://www.dmas.virginia.gov/for- providers/procedure-fee- files-cpt-codes/ - go to the header for HCPC
Codes and look for this service.

. Psychosocial Rehabilitation is reimbursed based on the following units of service: One unit = 2to 3.99 hours
per day; Two units = 4 to 6.99 hours per day; Three units = 7 + hours per day. The rates account for the
wages, employee costs, and other allowable costs associated with providing this service. The Agency's rates
were set as of Juhy-1,-2022 January 1, 2024, and are effective for services on or after that date. All rates
are published on the agency’s website at https://www.dmas.virginia.gov/for-providers/procedure-fee-
files- cpt-codes/ - go to the header for HCPC Codes and look for this service.

. Mobile Crisis Response is reimbursed based on a 15-minute unit of service. The rates account for the wages,
employee costs, and other allowable costs associated with providing this service. Except as otherwise noted in
the plan, state-developed fee schedule rates are the same for both governmental and private providers. The
Agency's fee schedule rate was set as of July-1.2022 January 1, 2024, and is effective for services on or after
that date. All rates are published on the agency’s website at https://www.dmas.virginia.gov/for-
providers/procedure- fee- files-cpt-codes/ - go to the header for HCPC Codes and look for this service.

. Assertive Community Treatment is reimbursed on a daily unit of service that accounts for the wages,
employee costs, and other allowable costs associated with providing this service. The Agency's rates were
set as of Juhy-1-2022 January 1, 2024, and are effective for services on or after that date. All rates are
published on the agency’s website at https://www.dmas.virginia.gov/for-providers/procedure-fee-files-
cpt- codes/ - go to the header for HCPC Codes and look for this service.

i. Community Stabilization is reimbursed on a 15 minute unit of service that accounts for the wages, employee
costs, and other allowable costs associated with providing this service. Except as otherwise noted in the plan,
state-developed fee schedule rates are the same for both governmental and private providers. The Agency's
fee schedule rate was set as of Juhy-1-2022 January 1, 2024, and is effective for services on or after that
date. All rates are published on the agency’s website at https://www.dmas.virginia.gov/for-
providers/procedure-fee-files- cpt-codes/ - go to the header for HCPC Codes and look for this service.

j. Independent Living and Recovery Services (previously called Mental Health Skill-Building

Services) are reimbursed based on the following units of service: One unit is 1to 2.99 hours per day, two
units is 3 to 4.99 hours per day. The rates account for the wages, employee costs, and other allowable costs
associated with providing this service The Agency's rates were set as of Juy-1-2022 January 1, 2024 and
are effective for services on or after that date. All rates are published on the agency’s website at
https://www.dmas.virginia.gov/for-providers/pr ocedure-fee-files-cpt-codes/ - go to the header for
HCPC Codes and look for this service.

TN No. 22-0018 Approval Date  March 13, 2023 Effective Date _07/01/2022
Supersedes
TN No. 21-023
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Attachment 4.19-B
Page 6.0.4

STATE PLANUNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT
State of VIRGINIA

METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATE-
OTHER TYPES OF CARE

Section 6 A (3), continued.

(p) Peer Support Services and Family Support Partners, as defined per Supplement 1 to Attachment 3.1A&B,
pages 54 through 59, and furnished by enrolled providers or provider agencies, shall be reimbursed based on
the agency fee schedule for 15-minute units of service. The agency's rates were set as of July-1.-2022
January 1, 2024, and are effective for services on or after that date. All rates are published on the DMAS
website at: www.dmas.virginia.gov. Except as otherwise noted in the plan, state-developed fee schedule
rates are the same for both governmental and private providers of (ex. case management for persons with
chronic mental illness).

(i) Peer Support Services and Family Support Partners shall not be reimbursed if the services operate
in the same building as other day services unless (i) there is a distinct separation between services in
staffing, program description, and physical space and (ii) Peer Support Services or Family Support
Partners do not impede, interrupt, or interfere with the provision of the primary service.

(if) Family Support Partners services shall not be reimbursed for an individual who resides in a
congregate setting in which the caregivers are paid (such as child caring institutions, or any other
living environment that is not comprised of more permanent caregivers) unless (i) the individual is
actively preparing for transition back to a single-family unit, (ii) the caregiver is present during the
intervention, (iii) the service is directed to supporting the unification/reunification of the individual
and his/her caregiver and (iv) the service takes place in that home and community.

TN No. _22-0018 Approval Date March 13, 2023 Effective Date _7-1-22
Supersedes
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STATEPLAN UNDER TITLE XIXOF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT
State of VIRGINIA

METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATE-
OTHER TYPES OF CARE

16.1 Reimbursement for personal care services for individuals enrolled in the Medicaid Buy-In program described in
Attachment 2.6A, Supplement 8a, p 1-3 or for personal care services covered under EPSDT. All governmental and private
providers are reimbursed according to the same published fee schedule. All rates are published on the DMAS website at
www.dmas.virginia.gov. The Agency's rates, based upon one-hour increments, were set as of July-1,-2022 January 1, 2024,
and shall be effective for 1902(a) state plan authorized services on and after that date. Qualifying overtime for consumer-
directed personal care provided under EPSDT will be paid 150% of the fee schedule, and qualifying sick leave for consumer
— directed personal care provided under EPSDT will be at 100% of the fee schedule.

16.1.a. Reimbursement for consumer-directed services facilitator services under EPSDT as described per Supplement 1 to
Attachment 3.1A&B, pages 6.4.7 & 6.4.8. All governmental and private providers are reimbursed according to the same
published fee schedule, located on the DMAS website at www.dmas.virginia.gov. The Agency's rates were set as of July
1, 2022, and shall be effective for services provided on and after that date.

16.2. Private duty nursing services covered under EPSDT as defined per Supplement 1 to Attachment 3.1A&B, page
6.4.8, with provider qualifications on page 6.4.8, are reimbursed based on a 15-minute unit of service in accordance with
the State Agency fee schedule. The fee schedule is the same for both governmental and private providers and was set as
of July 1, 2022_and shall be effective for services provided on and after that date. The state agency fee schedule is
published on the DMAS website at www.dmas.virginia.gov.

16.3 Medical Supplies, Equipment and Appliances (assistive technology) covered under EPSDT, as defined per
Supplement 1 to Attachment 3.1 A&B, page 6.4.9, with provider qualifications on page 6.4.10. The service shall be
reimbursed based upon the total cost of all AT incurred by the provider.

164 Reserved.

165 Hospice services, as defined per Attachment 3.1 A&B, Supplement 1, pages 33-37. Hospice services payments are
effective October 1 annually and are equivalent to the annual Medicaid hospice rates published by CMS. As of July 1,
2019, room and board will be reimbursed at a rate equal to 100 percent of the skilled nursing facility rate for Medicaid
members receiving hospice services who reside in a nursing facility. Hospice services shall be paid according to the
location of the service delivery and not the location of the Agency's home office. Payments to a hospice for inpatient care
are limited according to the number of days of inpatient care furnished to Medicaid members. During the twelve (12)
month period beginning October 1 of each year and ending September 30 of the next year, the aggregate number of
inpatient days (both general inpatient days and inpatient respite care days) for any given hospice provider may not exceed
twenty percent (20%) of the total number of days of hospice care provided to all Medicaid members during the same
period.

Services that are included in the hospice reimbursement are: (a) Routine Home Care where most hospice care is provided

- Days 1- 60; (b) Routine Home Care where most hospice care is provided-Days 61 and over; (c) Continuous Home Care;

(d) Hospice Inpatient Respite Care; (e) Hospice General Inpatient Care; (f) Service Intensity Add-On (SIA) will be made
for a visit by a social worker or a registered nurse (RN), when provided during routine home care provided in the last 7
days of a Medicaid member' s life. The SIA payment is in addition to the routine home care rate. The SIA Medicaid
reimbursement will be equal to the Continuous Home Care hourly payment rate (as calculated annually by CMS),
multiplied by the amount of direct patient care hours provided by an RN or social worker for up to four (4) hours total
that occurred on the day of service, and adjusted by the appropriate hospice wage index published by CMS.

16.3.1 Effective July 1, 2019, the telehealth originating site facility fee shall be set at 100 percent of the Medicare rate and shall
reflect changes annually based on any changes in the Medicare rate.

TN No. 22-0018 Approval Date  March 13, 2023 Effective Date 07/01/22
Supersedes
TN No. 21-0032



http://www.dmas.virginia.gov/
http://www.dmas.virginia.gov/
http://www.dmas.virginia.gov/

Attachment 4.19-B
Page 99
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State of VIRGINIA

METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATE-
OTHER TYPES OF CARE

12 VAC 30-80-96. Fee-for-service: Early Intervention (under EPSDT).

A. Payment for Early Intervention (EI) services pursuant to Part C of the Individuals with Disabilities
Education Act (IDEA) of 2004, as set forth in Supplement 1 to Attachment 3.1-A&B, page 6.1 of 41, for
individuals younger than 21 years of age shall be the lower of the state agency fee schedule or actual charge
(charge to the general public). All private and governmental fee-for-service providers are reimbursed
according to the same methodology. The agency’s rates were set as of October-1,-2009 January 1, 2024, and
are effective for services on or after that date. Rates are published on the agency’s website at
www.dmas.virginia.gov .

B. There shall be separate fees for:

1. certified Early Intervention professionals who are also licensed as either a physical therapist, occupational
therapist, speech pathologist, or registered nurse and certified Early Intervention specialists who are also
licensed as either a physical therapy assistant or occupational therapy assistant and

2. all other certified Early Intervention professionals and certified Early Intervention specialists.
C. Provider travel time shall not be included in billable time for reimbursement.

D. Local Education Agency (LEA) providers provide Medicaid-covered school health services for which they
are reimbursed on a cost basis pursuant to Attachment 4.19-B, pages 9a through 9f of 15. LEAs may also be
certified as, and enrolled to provide, Early Intervention services. LEASs providing such services shall be
reimbursed for EI services on a fee-for-service basis in the same manner as other EI providers. The fee- for-
service rate is the same regardless of the setting in which LEAs provide El services.

TN No. 09-20 Approval Date _08/19/10 Effective Date _10/01/09
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Page 5.1

STATE PLANUNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT

State of VIRGINIA

METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATE-
OTHER TYPES OF CARE

6.A. 3. Mental health services
a. Professional services furnished by non-physicians, as described in 3.1A&B, Supplement 1,
page 7 and page 11. These services are reimbursed using CPT codes. The agency’s fee
schedule rate is based on the methodology described in Attachment 4-19B, page 4.11, section
6
(A) 1.

(i) Services provided by licensed clinical psychologists shall be reimbursed at 90% of the
reimbursement rate for psychiatrists in Attachment 4-19B, page 4.11, section 6 (A)
1.

(ii) Services provided by independently enrolled licensed clinical social workers, licensed
professional counselors, licensed clinical nurse specialists-psychiatric, or licensed
marriage and family therapists shall be reimbursed at 75% of the reimbursement rate for
licensed clinical psychologists.

b. Intensive In-Home, as defined per Supplement 1 to Attachment 3.1A&B, Supplement 1, page
6.0.2, and provided by the individuals who are listed in Attachment 3.1A&B, Supplement 1,
page 6.0.3 and defined in Attachment 3.1A&B, Supplement 1, page 6.0.1, is reimbursed on an
hourly unit of service. The Agency's rates were set as of January 1, 2024, and are effective
for services on or after that date.

c. Therapeutic Day Treatment, as defined per Supplement 1 to Attachment 3.1A&B, page 6.0.4,
and provided by the individuals who are listed in Attachment 3.1A&B, Supplement 1, page 6.1
and defined in Attachment 3.1A&B, Supplement 1, page 6.0.1,is reimbursed based on the
following units of service: One unit = 2 to 2.99 hours; Two units = 3 to 4.99 hours; Three units
=5 plus hours. No room and board is included in the rates for therapeutic day treatment. The
Agency's rates were set as of January 1, 2024, and are effective for services on or after that date.

d. Therapeutic Group Home services (formerly called Level A and Level B group home services),
as defined per Supplement 1 to Attachment 3.1A&B, page 6.2, shall be reimbursed based on a
daily unit of service. No room and board is included in the rates for therapeutic group home
services. The Agency’s rates were set as of July 1, 2022, and are effective for services on or
after that date.

TN No. _24-0003 Approval Date Effective Date 01-01-24
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STATEPLANUNDER TITLE XIXOF THE SOCIALSECURITY ACT
State of VIRGINIA
METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATE -
OTHER TYPES OF CARE

d-1. Mental Health Intensive Outpatient services are reimbursed based on a per-diem unit that accounts
for the wages, employee costs, and other allowable costs associated with providing this service. The rate
for this service does not include costs related to room and board or other unallowable facility costs. Except
as otherwise noted in the plan, state-developed fee schedule rates are the same for both governmental and
private providers. The Agency's fee schedule rate was set as of January 1, 2024, and is effective for
services on or after that date. All rates are published on the agency’s website at
https://www.dmas.virginia.gov/for-providers/procedure-fee-files-cpt-codes/ - go to the header for
HCPC Codes and look for this service.

d-2. Residential Crisis Stabilization is reimbursed based on a per-diem unit. The rate for this service
does not include costs related to roomand board or other unallowable facility costs. Except as otherwise
noted in the plan, state-developed fee schedule rates are the same for both governmental and private
providers. The Agency's fee schedule rate was set as of January 1, 2024 and is effective for services
on or after that date. All rates are published on the agency’s website at
https://www.dmas.virginia.gov/for- providers/procedure-fee-files-cpt-codes/ - go to the header for
HCPC Codes and look for this service.

d-3. 23-Hour Residential Crisis Stabilization is a form of Residential Crisis Stabilization that is
provided as a 23-hour service and is reimbursed on a per-diem unit. The rate for this service does not
include costs related to room and board or other unallowable facility costs. Exceptas otherwise noted in
the plan, state-developed fee schedule rates are the same for both governmental and private providers.
The Agency's fee schedule rate was set as of January 1, 2024 and is effective for services on or after
that date. All rates are published on the agency’s website at https://www.dmas.virginia.gov/for-
providers/procedure-fee-files-cpt-codes/ - go to the header for HCPC Codes and look for this
service.

d-4. Multisystemic Therapy is reimbursed based on a 15-minute unit of service. Except as otherwise
noted in the plan, state-developed fee schedule rates are the same for both governmental and private
providers. The Agency's fee schedule rate was set as of January 1, 2024, and is effective for services
on or after that date. All rates are published on the agency’s website at
https://www.dmas.virginia.gov/for- providers/procedure-fee-files-cpt-codes/ - go to the header for
HCPC Codes and look for this service.

d-5. Functional Family Therapy is reimbursed based on a 15-minute unit of service. Except as otherwise
noted in the plan, state-developed fee schedule rates are the same for both governmental and private
providers. The Agency's fee schedule rate was set as of January 1, 2024, and is effective for services
on or after that date. All rates are published on the agency’s website at
https://www.dmas.virginia.gov/for- providers/procedure-fee-files-cpt-codes/ - go to the header for
HCPC Codes and look for this service.

TN No. 24-0003 Approval Date Effective Date _ 01/01/2024
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STATEPLANUNDER TITLE XIXOF THE SOCIALSECURITY ACT
State of VIRGINIA
METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATE -
OTHER TYPES OF CARE

e. Mental Health Partial Hospitalization Program services are reimbursed based on a per diem unit that accounts
for the wages, employee costs, and other allowable costs associated with providing this service. The rate for
this service does not include costs related to room and board or other unallowable facility costs. Except as
otherwise noted in the plan, state-developed fee schedule rates are the same for both governmental and private
providers. The Agency's fee schedule rate was set as of January 1, 2024, and is effective for services on or
after that date. All rates are published on the agency’s website at https://www.dmas.virginia.gov/for-
providers/procedure-fee- files-cpt-codes/ - go to the header for HCPC Codes and look for this service.

f. Psychosocial Rehabilitation is reimbursed based on the following units of service: One unit = 2 to 3.99 hours
per day; Two units = 4 to 6.99 hours per day; Three units = 7 + hours per day. The rates account for the
wages, employee costs, and other allowable costs associated with providing this service. The Agency's rates
were set as of January 1, 2024, and are effective for services on or after that date. All rates are published
on the agency’s website at https://www.dmas.virginia.gov/for-providers/procedure-fee-files- cpt-codes/ -
go to the header for HCPC Codes and look for this service.

0. Mobile Crisis Response is reimbursed based on a 15-minute unit of service. The rates account for the wages,
employee costs, and other allowable costs associated with providing this service. Except as otherwise noted in
the plan, state-developed fee schedule rates are the same for both governmental and private providers. The
Agency's fee schedule rate was set as of January 1, 2024, and is effective for services on or after that date. All
rates are published on the agency’s website at https://www.dmas.virginia.gov/for- providers/procedure- fee-
files-cpt-codes/ - go to the header for HCPC Codes and look for this service.

h. Assertive Community Treatment is reimbursed on a daily unit of service that accounts for the wages,
employee costs, and other allowable costs associated with providing this service. The Agency's rates were
set as of January 1, 2024, and are effective for services on or after that date. All rates are published on
the agency’s website at https://www.dmas.virginia.gov/for-providers/procedure-fee-files-cpt- codes/ - go
to the header for HCPC Codes and look for this service.

i. Community Stabilization is reimbursed on a 15 minute unit of service that accounts for the wages, employee
costs, and other allowable costs associated with providing this service. Except as otherwise noted in the plan,
state-developed fee schedule rates are the same for both governmental and private providers. The Agency's
fee schedule rate was set as of January 1, 2024, and is effective for services on or after that date. All rates
are published on the agency’s website at https://www.dmas.virginia.gov/for- providers/procedure-fee-
files- cpt-codes/ - go to the header for HCPC Codes and look for this service.

j. Independent Living and Recovery Services (previously called Mental Health Skill-Building
Services) are reimbursed based on the following units of service: One unit is 1 to 2.99 hours per day, two
units is 3to 4.99 hours per day. The rates account for the wages, employee costs, and other allowable costs
associated with providing this service The Agency's rates were set as of January 1, 2024 and are effective
for services on or after that date. All rates are published on the agency’s website at
https://www.dmas.virginia.gov/for-providers/pr ocedure-fee-files-cpt-codes/ - go to the header for
HCPC Codes and look for this service.

TN No. __ 24-0003 Approval Date Effective Date _01/01/2024
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STATE PLANUNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT
State of VIRGINIA

METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATE-
OTHER TYPES OF CARE

Section 6 A (3), continued.

(p) Peer Support Services and Family Support Partners, as defined per Supplement 1 to Attachment 3.1A&B,
pages 54 through 59, and furnished by enrolled providers or provider agencies, shall be reimbursed based on
the agency fee schedule for 15-minute units of service. The agency's rates were set as of January 1, 2024,
and are effective for services on or after that date. All rates are published on the DMAS website at:
www.dmas.virginia.gov. Except as otherwise noted in the plan, state-developed fee schedule rates are the
same for both governmental and private providers of (ex. case management for persons with chronic mental
illness).

(i) Peer Support Services and Family Support Partners shall not be reimbursed if the services operate
in the same building as other day services unless (i) there is a distinct separation between services in
staffing, program description, and physical space and (ii) Peer Support Services or Family Support
Partners do not impede, interrupt, or interfere with the provision of the primary service.

(if) Family Support Partners services shall not be reimbursed for an individual who resides in a
congregate setting in which the caregivers are paid (such as child caring institutions, or any other
living environment that is not comprised of more permanent caregivers) unless (i) the individual is
actively preparing for transition back to a single-family unit, (ii) the caregiver is present during the
intervention, (iii) the service is directed to supporting the unification/reunification of the individual
and his/her caregiver and (iv) the service takes place in that home and community.
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STATEPLAN UNDER TITLE XIXOF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT
State of VIRGINIA

METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATE-
OTHER TYPES OF CARE

16.1 Reimbursement for personal care services for individuals enrolled in the Medicaid Buy-In program described in
Attachment 2.6A, Supplement 8a, p 1-3 or for personal care services covered under EPSDT. All governmental and private
providers are reimbursed according to the same published fee schedule. All rates are published on the DMAS website at
www.dmas.virginia.gov. The Agency's rates, based upon one-hour increments, were set as of January 1, 2024, and shall
be effective for 1902(a) state plan authorized services on and after that date. Qualifying overtime for consumer-directed
personal care provided under EPSDT will be paid 150% of the fee schedule, and qualifying sick leave for consumer —
directed personal care provided under EPSDT will be at 100% of the fee schedule.

16.1.a. Reimbursement for consumer-directed services facilitator services under EPSDT as described per Supplement 1 to
Attachment 3.1A&B, pages 6.4.7 & 6.4.8. All governmental and private providers are reimbursed according to the same
published fee schedule, located on the DMAS website at www.dmas.virginia.gov. The Agency's rates were set as of July
1, 2022, and shall be effective for services provided on and after that date.

16.2. Private duty nursing services covered under EPSDT as defined per Supplement 1 to Attachment 3.1A&B, page
6.4.8, with provider qualifications on page 6.4.8, are reimbursed based on a 15-minute unit of service in accordance with
the State Agency fee schedule. The fee schedule is the same for both governmental and private providers and was set as
of July 1, 2022_and shall be effective for services provided on and after that date. The state agency fee schedule is
published on the DMAS website at www.dmas.virginia.gov.

16.3 Medical Supplies, Equipment and Appliances (assistive technology) covered under EPSDT, as defined per
Supplement 1 to Attachment 3.1 A&B, page 6.4.9, with provider qualifications on page 6.4.10. The service shall be
reimbursed based upon the total cost of all AT incurred by the provider.

164 Reserved.

165 Hospice services, as defined per Attachment 3.1 A&B, Supplement 1, pages 33-37. Hospice services payments are
effective October 1 annually and are equivalent to the annual Medicaid hospice rates published by CMS. As of July 1,
2019, room and board will be reimbursed at a rate equal to 100 percent of the skilled nursing facility rate for Medicaid
members receiving hospice services who reside in a nursing facility. Hospice services shall be paid according to the
location of the service delivery and not the location of the Agency's home office. Payments to a hospice for inpatient care
are limited according to the number of days of inpatient care furnished to Medicaid members. During the twelve (12)
month period beginning October 1 of each year and ending September 30 of the next year, the aggregate number of
inpatient days (both general inpatient days and inpatient respite care days) for any given hospice provider may not exceed
twenty percent (20%) of the total number of days of hospice care provided to all Medicaid members during the same
period.

Services that are included in the hospice reimbursement are: (a) Routine Home Care where most hospice care is provided

- Days 1- 60; (b) Routine Home Care where most hospice care is provided-Days 61 and over; (c) Continuous Home Care;

(d) Hospice Inpatient Respite Care; (e) Hospice General Inpatient Care; (f) Service Intensity Add-On (SIA) will be made
for a visit by a social worker or a registered nurse (RN), when provided during routine home care provided in the last 7
days of a Medicaid member' s life. The SIA payment is in addition to the routine home care rate. The SIA Medicaid
reimbursement will be equal to the Continuous Home Care hourly payment rate (as calculated annually by CMS),
multiplied by the amount of direct patient care hours provided by an RN or social worker for up to four (4) hours total
that occurred on the day of service, and adjusted by the appropriate hospice wage index published by CMS.

16.3.1 Effective July 1, 2019, the telehealth originating site facility fee shall be set at 100 percent of the Medicare rate and shall
reflect changes annually based on any changes in the Medicare rate.
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12 VAC 30-80-96. Fee-for-service: Early Intervention (under EPSDT).

A. Payment for Early Intervention (EI) services pursuant to Part C of the Individuals with Disabilities
Education Act (IDEA) of 2004, as set forth in Supplement 1 to Attachment 3.1-A&B, page 6.1 of 41, for
individuals younger than 21 years of age shall be the lower of the state agency fee schedule or actual charge
(charge to the general public). All private and governmental fee-for-service providers are reimbursed
according to the same methodology. The agency’s rates were set as of January 1, 2024, and are effective for
services on or after that date. Rates are published on the agency’s website at www.dmas.virginia.gov .

B. There shall be separate fees for:

1. certified Early Intervention professionals who are also licensed as either a physical therapist, occupational
therapist, speech pathologist, or registered nurse and certified Early Intervention specialists who are also
licensed as either a physical therapy assistant or occupational therapy assistant and

2. all other certified Early Intervention professionals and certified Early Intervention specialists.
C. Provider travel time shall not be included in billable time for reimbursement.

D. Local Education Agency (LEA) providers provide Medicaid-covered school health services for which they
are reimbursed on a cost basis pursuant to Attachment 4.19-B, pages 9a through 9f of 15. LEAs may also be
certified as, and enrolled to provide, Early Intervention services. LEAs providing such services shall be
reimbursed for El services on a fee-for-service basis in the same manner as other El providers. The fee- for-
service rate is the same regardless of the setting in which LEASs provide EI services.
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