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John E. Littel

Secretary of Health and Human Resources

September 6, 2022

Todd McMillion

Director

Department of Health and Human Services
Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services
233 North Michigan Ave., Suite 600
Chicago, Illinois 60601

Dear Mr. McMillion;

Attached for your review and approval is amendment 22-018, entitled “2022 Non-Institutional
Provider Reimbursement Changes” to the Plan for Medical Assistance for the Commonwealth. [
request that your office approve this change as quickly as possible.

Sincerely,

o

wJohn E. Littel

Attachment

cc: Cheryl J. Roberts, Acting Director, Department of Medical Assistance Services
CMS, Region 111
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Transmittal Summary

SPA 22-018

IDENTIFICATION INFORMATION

Title of Amendment: 2022 Non-Institutional Provider Reimbursement Changes

SYNOPSIS

Basis and Authority: The Code of Virginia (1950) as amended, § 32.1-325, grants to the Board
of Medical Assistance Services the authority to administer and amend the Plan for Medical
Assistance. The Code of Virginia (1950) as amended, § 32.1-324, authorizes the Director of
the Department of Medical Assistance Services (DMAS) to administer and amend the Plan for
Medical Assistance according to the Board's requirements.

Purpose: The 2022 Appropriations Act requires DMAS to make the following changes:

a.

Item 304.DD(7)(b): The state plan is being revised to implement supplemental physician
payments for practice plans employed by or under contract with Chesapeake Regional
Hospital to the maximum allowed by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services. The
department shall increase payments to Medicaid managed care organizations for the
purpose of providing higher rates to physicians employed by or under contract with
Chesapeake Regional Hospital based on the maximum allowed by CMS. The department
shall revise its contracts with managed care organizations to incorporate these managed care
directed payments, subject to approval by CMS.

Item 304.DDDD: The state plan is being revised to increase the rates for personal care
services by 7.5 percent to reflect additional increases in the state minimum wage while
maintaining the existing differential between consumer-directed and agency-directed rest-
of-state rates as well as the northern Virginia and rest-of-state rates. (A corresponding rate
increase of 7.5% will be provided for personal care services and for companion and respite
services provided under home and community-based waivers, however, the increase is not
included in a state plan amendment but via waiver documentation.)

Item 304.1111(1): The state plan is being revised to increase reimbursement rates for dental
services by 30 percent.

Item 304.JJJJ: The state plan is being revised to increase reimbursement rates for physician
primary care services, excluding those provided in emergency departments, to 80 percent
of the federal FY 2021 Medicare equivalent as calculated by the department and consistent
with the appropriation available for this purpose.

Item 304.KKKK: The state plan is being revised to update the rates for Private Duty and
Skilled Nursing under the Early Periodic Screening, and Diagnosis Treatment (EPSDT)
benefit. (A corresponding rate increase will be provided for these services and for Group
Homes, Sponsored Residential, Supported Living, Independent Living Supports, In-home
Supports, Community Engagement, Community Coaching, Therapeutic Consultation,



Group Day Support, Group Supported Employment, Workplace Assistance, Community
Guide, DD Case Management and Benefits Planning provided under home and community-
based waivers, using the most recent rebasing estimates, based on DMAS’ review of the
model assumptions as appropriate and consistent with efficiency, economy, quality and
sufficiency of care and reported no later than July 1, 2022. Rates shall be increased
according to Tiered payments contained in the rebasing model, where appropriate for the
type of service provided. These increases are not included in the state plan amendment but
via waiver documentation.)

Item 304.LLLL: The state plan is being revised to increase reimbursement rates for
obstetrics and gynecology covered services by 15 percent.

Item 304.MMMM: The state plan is being revised to increase reimbursement rates for
children's covered vision services by 30 percent.

Item 304.QQQQ: The state plan is being revised to increase Medicaid rates for peer
recovery and family support services in private and public community-based recovery
services settings from $6.50 to $13.00 per 15 minutes for individuals and from $2.70 to
$5.40 per 15 minutes for groups.

Item 304.RRRR: The state plan is being revised to increase rates by 12.5%, relative to the
rates in effect prior to July 1, 2021, for consumer-directed facilitation services, mental
health and early intervention case management services, and community behavioral health
and habilitation services.

Substance and Analysis: The section of the State Plan that is affected by this amendment is

“Methods and Standards for Establishing Payment Rate — Other Types of Care”

Impact:

a.

Item 304.DD(7)(b): The expected increase in annual aggregate expenditures is $0 in state
general funds and $2,781,421 in federal funds in federal fiscal year 2022,

Item 304.DDDD: The expected increase in annual aggregate expenditures is $4,755 in state
general funds and $6,102 in federal funds in federal fiscal year 2022.

Item 304.1111(1): The expected increase in annual aggregate expenditures is $6,285,669 in
state general funds, $506,734 in special funds, and $11,352,111 in federal funds in federal
fiscal year 2022.

Item 304.JJJJ: The expected increase in annual aggregate expenditures is $29,252 in state
general funds, $6,162 in special funds, and $86,459 in federal funds in federal fiscal year
2022.

Item 304.KKKK: The expected increase in annual aggregate expenditures is $671,439 in
state general funds, $1,548 in special funds, and $875,462 in federal funds in federal fiscal
year 2022.



f. Item 304.LLLL: The expected increase in annual aggregate expenditures is $8,661 in state
general funds, $1,227 in special funds, and $19,907 in federal funds in federal fiscal year
2022.

g. Item 304.MMMM: The expected increase in annual aggregate expenditures is $2,732 in
state general funds, $133 in special funds, and $4,952 in federal funds in federal fiscal year
2022.

h. Item 304.QQQQ: The expected increase in annual aggregate expenditures is $2,363 in state
general funds, $269 in special funds, and $4,849 in federal funds in federal fiscal year 2022.

i. Item 304.RRRR: The expected increase in annual aggregate expenditures is $347,659 in

state general funds, $15,569 in special funds, and $500,533 in federal funds in federal fiscal
year 2022,

Tribal Notice: Please see attached. Please see Attachments A-1 and A-2.

Prior Public Notice: Please see Attachment B-1.

Public Comments and Agency Analysis: N/A.




ATTACHMENT A-1

Commonwealth of
‘* V|rg|n|a Lee, Meredith <meredith.lee@dmas.virginia.gov>

Tribal Notice — Non-Institutional Provider Reimbursement Changes
1 message

Lee, Meredith <meredith.lee@dmas.virginia.gov> Fri, Aug 19, 2022 at 3:34 PM
To: bradbybrown@gmail.com, chiefannerich@aol.com, chiefstephenadkins@gmail.com, jerry.stewart@cit-ed.org,
Kara.Kearns@ihs.gov, Pamelathompson4@yahoo.com, rappahannocktrib@aol.com, regstew007 @gmail.com,
tabitha.garrett@ihs.gov, tribaladmin@monacannation.com, TribalOffice@monacannation.com, WFrankAdams@verizon.net,
Mia Eubank <Mia.Eubank@ihs.gov>, Robert Gray <robert.gray@pamunkey.org>, Sam Bass
<samflyingeagle48@yahoo.com>

Dear Tribal Leaders and Indian Health Programs:

Attached is a Tribal Notice letter from Virginia Medicaid Acting Director Cheryl Roberts indicating
that the Dept. of Medical Assistance Services (DMAS) plans to submit a State Plan Amendment
(SPA) to the federal Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services. This SPA will allow DMAS to
make non-institutional provider reimbursement changes as a result of items in the 2022
Appropriations Act.

If you would like a copy of the SPA documents or proposed text changes, or if you have any
questions, please let us know.

Thank you! -- Meredith Lee

Meredith Lee

Policy, Regulations, and Manuals Supervisor

Division of Policy, Regulation, and Member Engagement
Department of Medical Assistance Services

600 East Broad Street

Richmond, VA 23219

meredith.lee@dmas.virginia.gov

(804) 371-0552

ﬂ Tribal Notice Letter, signed_8_19_22.pdf
257K

https://mail.google.com/mail/u/0/?ik=6d7340604 1&view=pt&search=all&permthid=thread-a%3Ar-7820819912620816025%7Cmsg-a%3Ar9207602077... 1/1
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ATTACHMENT A-2

)

g
COMMONWEALTH of VIRGINIA
CHERYL J. ROBERTS Department of Medical Assistance Services SUITE 1300
ACTING DIRECTOR 600 EAST BROAD STREET

RICHMOND, VA 23219
804/786-7933
800/343-0634 (TDD)
www.dmas.virginia.gov

August 19, 2022

SUBJECT: Notice of Opportunity for Tribal Comment — State Plan Amendment related to
2022 Non-Institutional Provider Reimbursement Changes.

Dear Tribal Leader and Indian Health Programs:

This letter is to notify you that the Department of Medical Assistance Services (DMAS) is
planning to amend the Virginia State Plan for Medical Assistance with the Centers for Medicare
and Medicaid Services (CMS). Specifically, DMAS is providing you notice about a State Plan
Amendment (SPA) that the Agency will file with CMS in order to make changes to non-
institutional provider reimbursement as a result of items in the 2022 Appropriations Act. These
items include:

Methods & Standards for Establishing Payment Rates-Other Types of Care (12 VAC 30-80)

l. Item 304.DD(7)(b): The state plan is being revised to implement supplemental physician
payments for practice plans employed by or under contract with Chesapeake Regional Hospital to
the maximum allowed by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services. The department shall
increase payments to Medicaid managed care organizations for the purpose of providing higher
rates to physicians employed by or under contract with Chesapeake Regional Hospital based on the
maximum allowed by CMS. The department shall revise its contracts with managed care
organizations to incorporate these managed care directed payments, subject to approval by CMS.

2. Item 304.DDDD: The state plan is being revised to increase the rates for personal care
services by 7.5 percent to reflect additional increases in the state minimum wage while maintaining
the existing differential between consumer-directed and agency-directed rest-of-state rates as well
as the northern Virginia and rest-of-state rates. (A corresponding rate increase of 7.5% will be
provided for personal care services and for companion and respite services provided under home
and community-based waivers, however, the increase is not included in a state plan amendment but
via waiver documentation.)

3. Item 304.11II(1): The state plan is being revised to increase reimbursement rates for dental
services by 30 percent.

4. Item 304.JJ1J: The state plan is being revised to increase reimbursement rates for physician
primary care services, excluding those provided in emergency departments, to 80 percent of the
federal FY 2021 Medicare equivalent as calculated by the department and consistent with the
appropriation available for this purpose.


http://www.dmas.virginia.gov/

5. Item 304.KKKK: The state plan is being revised to update the rates for Private Duty and
Skilled Nursing under the Early Periodic Screening, and Diagnosis Treatment (EPSDT) benefit. (A
corresponding rate increase will be provided for these services and for Group Homes, Sponsored
Residential, Supported Living, Independent Living Supports, In-home Supports, Community
Engagement, Community Coaching, Therapeutic Consultation, Group Day Support, Group
Supported Employment, Workplace Assistance, Community Guide, DD Case Management and
Benefits Planning provided under home and community-based waivers, using the most recent
rebasing estimates, based on DMAS’ review of the model assumptions as appropriate and
consistent with efficiency, economy, quality and sufficiency of care and reported no later than July
1, 2022. Rates shall be increased according to Tiered payments contained in the rebasing model,
where appropriate for the type of service provided. These increases are not included in the state plan
amendment but via waiver documentation.)

6. Item 304.LLLL: The state plan is being revised to increase reimbursement rates for obstetrics
and gynecology covered services by 15 percent.

7. Item 304.MMMM: The state plan is being revised to increase reimbursement rates for
children's covered vision services by 30 percent.

8. Item 304.QQQQ: The state plan is being revised to increase Medicaid rates for peer recovery
and family support services in private and public community-based recovery services settings from
$6.50 to $13.00 per 15 minutes for individuals and from $2.70 to $5.40 per 15 minutes for groups.

9. Item 304.RRRR: The state plan is being revised to increase rates by 12.5%, relative to the
rates in effect prior to July 1, 2021, for consumer-directed facilitation services, mental health and
early intervention case management services, and community behavioral health and habilitation
services.

The tribal comment period for this SPA is open through September 18, 2022. You may submityour
comments directly to Meredith Lee, DMAS Policy, Regulation, and Member Engagement Division,
by phone (804) 371-0552, or via email: Meredith.Lee@dmas.virginia.gov. Finally, if you prefer
regular mail you may send your comments or questions to:

Virginia Department of Medical Assistance Services
Attn: Meredith Lee
600 East Broad StreetRichmond, VA 23219

Please forward this information to any interested party.

Sincerely,

s “\Q % \ihj\%_.

Cheryl J. R@ia T

Acting Director



912/22, 7:24 AM ATTACHMENT B-1

Virginia.gov

VIRGINIA -8

FEGULATORY TOWN HALL

117

Department of Medical Assistance Services
Board of Medical Assistance Services

@ Edit Notice

General Notice

Public Notice - Intent to Amend State Plan - 2022 Non-Institutional Provider
Reimbursement Changes

Date Posted: 6/30/2022
Expiration Date: 12/30/2022
Submitted to Registrar for publication: YES

No comment forum defined for this notice.

LEGAL NOTICE
COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA
DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE SERVICES

NOTICE OF INTENT TO AMEND
(Pursuant to §1902(a)(13) of the Act (U.S.C. 1396a(a)(13))

THE VIRGINIA STATE PLAN FOR MEDICAL ASSISTANCE

This Notice was posted on June 30, 2022

The Virginia Department of Medical Assistance Services (DMAS) hereby affords the public notice of its intention to
amend the Virginia State Plan for Medical Assistance to provide for changes to the Methods and Standards for
Establishing Payment Rates — Other Types of Care (12 VAC 30-80).

This notice is intended to satisfy the requirements of 42 C.F.R. § 447.205 and of § 1902(a)(13) of the Social Security
Act, 42 U.S.C. § 1396a(a)(13). A copy of this notice is available for public review from Meredith Lee, DMAS, 600
Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, or via e-mail at: Meredith.Lee@dmas.virginia.gov.

DMAS is specifically soliciting input from stakeholders, providers and beneficiaries, on the potential impact of
the proposed changes discussed in this notice. Comments or inquiries may be submitted, in writing, within 30 days
of this notice publication to Meredith Lee and such comments are available for review at the same address.
Comments may also be submitted, in writing, on the Town Hall public comment forum attached to this notice.

This notice is available for public review on the Regulatory Town Hall (https://townhall.virginia.gov) on the General

Methods & Standards for Establishing Payment Rates-Other Types of Care (12 VAC 30-80)

1. In accordance with the 2022 Special Session, Item 304.DD(7)(b), the state plan is being revised to
implement supplemental physician payments for practice plans employed by or under contract with
Chesapeake Regional Hospital to the maximum allowed by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid
Services. The department shall increase payments to Medicaid managed care organizations for the purpose
of providing higher rates to physicians employed by or under contract with Chesapeake Regional Hospital

https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewNotice.cfm?gnid=2429 1/3
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based on the maximum allowed by CMS. The department shall revise its contracts with managed care
organizations to incorporate these managed care directed payments, subject to approval by CMS.

The expected increase in annual aggregate expenditures is $0 in state general funds and $2,781,421 in
federal funds in federal fiscal year 2022.

2. In accordance with the 2022 Special Session, Item 304.DDDD, the state plan is being revised to increase
the rates for agency-directed and consumer-directed personal care services under the Early Periodic
Screening, and Diagnosis and Treatment (EPSDT) benefit by 7.5 percent to reflect additional increases in
the state minimum wage while maintaining the existing differential between consumer-directed and
agency-directed rest-of-state rates as well as the northern Virginia and rest-of-state rates. (A corresponding
rate increase of 7.5% will be provided for these services and for companion and respite services provided
under home and community- based waivers, however, the increase is not included in a state plan
amendment but via waiver documentation.)

The expected increase in annual aggregate expenditures is $4,755 in state general funds and $6,102 in
federal funds in federal fiscal year 2022.

3. In accordance with the 2022 Special Session, Item 304.111I(1), the state plan is being revised to increase
reimbursement rates for dental services by 30 percent.

The expected increase in annual aggregate expenditures is $6,285,669 in state general funds, $506,734 in
special funds, and $11,352,111 in federal funds in federal fiscal year 2022.

4. In accordance with the 2022 Special Session, Item 304.JJJJ, the state plan is being revised to increase
reimbursement rates for physician primary care services, excluding those provided in emergency
departments, to 80 percent of the federal FY 2021 Medicare equivalent as calculated by the department and
consistent with the appropriation available for this purpose.

The expected increase in annual aggregate expenditures is $29,252 in state general funds, $6,162 in special
funds, and $86,459 in federal funds in federal fiscal year 2022.

5. In accordance with the 2022 Special Session, Item 304.KKKK, the state plan is being revised to update the
rates for Private Duty and Skilled Nursing under the Early Periodic Screening, and Diagnosis Treatment
(EPSDT) benefit. (A corresponding rate increase will be provided for these services and for Group Homes,
Sponsored Residential, Supported Living, Independent Living Supports, In-home Supports, Community
Engagement, Community Coaching, Therapeutic Consultation, Group Day Support, Group Supported
Employment, Workplace Assistance, Community Guide, DD Case Management and Benefits Planning
provided under home and community- based waivers, using the most recent rebasing estimates, based on
DMAS?’ review of the model assumptions as appropriate and consistent with efficiency, economy, quality
and sufficiency of care and reported no later than July 1, 2022. Rates shall be increased according to
Tiered payments contained in the rebasing model, where appropriate for the type of service provided.
These increases are not included in the state plan amendment but via waiver documentation.)

The expected increase in annual aggregate expenditures is $671,439 in state general funds, $1,548 in special
funds, and $875,462 in federal funds in federal fiscal year 2022.

6. In accordance with the 2022 Special Session, Item 304.LLLL, the state plan is being revised to increase
reimbursement rates for obstetrics and gynecology covered services by 15 percent.

The expected increase in annual aggregate expenditures is $8,661 in state general funds, $1,227 in special
funds, and $19, 907 in federal funds in federal fiscal year 2022.

https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewNotice.cfm?gnid=2429 2/3
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7. In accordance with the 2022 Special Session, Item 304.MMMM, the state plan is being revised to increase
reimbursement rates for children's covered vision services by 30 percent.

The expected increase in annual aggregate expenditures is $2,732 in state general funds, $133 in special
funds, and $4,952 in federal funds in federal fiscal year 2022.

8. In accordance with the 2022 Special Session, Item 304.QQQQ, the state plan is being revised to increase
Medicaid rates for peer recovery and family support services in private and public community-based
recovery services settings from $6.50 to $13.00 per 15 minutes for individuals and from $2.70 to $5.40 per
15 minutes for groups.

The expected increase in annual aggregate expenditures is $2,363 in state general funds, $269 in special
funds, and $4,849 in federal funds in federal fiscal year 2022.

9. In accordance with the 2022 Special Session, Item 304.RRRR, the state plan is being revised to increase
rates by 12.5%, relative to the rates in effect prior to July 1, 2021, for consumer-directed facilitation
services, mental health and early intervention case management services, and community behavioral health
and habilitation services.

The expected increase in annual aggregate expenditures is $347,659 in state general funds, $15,569 in
special funds, and $500,533 in federal funds in federal fiscal year 2022.

Contact Information
Name / Title: Meredith Lee / Policy, Regulations, and Manuals Supervisor
Address: Division of Policy and Research

600 E. Broad Street, Suite 1300
Richmond, 23219

Email Meredith.Lee@dmas.virginia.gov
Address:
Telephone: (804)371-0552 FAX: (804)786-1680 TDD: (800)343-0634

This general notice was created by Meredith Lee on 06/30/2022 at 6:11am

https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewNotice.cfm?gnid=2429 3/3
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Attachment 4.19-B
Page 5

STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT
State of VIRGINIA

METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATE-
OTHER TYPES OF CARE

6.A. 2. Dentists' services: Dental services, dental provider qualifications and dental service limits are identified in
Attachment 3.1A&B, Supplement 1, page 16.1 and 16.1.1. Dental services are paid based on procedure codes
WhICh are listed in the Agency fee schedule rate, effectlveJquyLze—zeze uly1, 2022 Ihestateageneyfeeeeheduteers

a o.pdf All rates are
publlshed on the DMAS websne atwww dmas. V|rq|n|a qov Except as other\lee noted in the plan state developed fee
schedule rates are the same for both governmental and private individual practitioners.

TN No. _20-016 Approval Date _9/2/20 Effective Date _ 07-26-20

Supersedes
TN No. _ 19-006


http://www.dmas.virginia.gov/%23/dentalresources
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Attachment 4.19-B
Page 5.1

STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT
State of VIRGINIA

METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATE-
OTHER TYPES OF CARE

6.A. 3. Mental health services
a. Professional services furnished by non-physicians, as described in 3.1A&B, Supplement 1,
page 7 and page 11. These services are reimbursed using CPT codes. The agency’s fee
schedule rate is based on the methodology described in Attachment 4-19B, page 4.8, section 6

(A) 1.

(i) Services provided by licensed clinical psychologists shall be reimbursed at 90% of the
reimbursement rate for psychiatrists in Attachment 4-19B, page 4.8, section 6 (A) 1.

(ii) Services provided by independently enrolled licensed clinical social workers, licensed
professional counselors, licensed clinical nurse specialists-psychiatric, or licensed
marriage and family therapists shall be reimbursed at 75% of the reimbursement rate for
licensed clinical psychologists.

b. Intensive In-Home, as defined per Supplement 1 to Attachment 3.1A&B, Supplement 1, page
6.0.2, and provided by the individuals who are listed in Attachment 3.1A&B, Supplement 1,
page 6.0.3 and defined in Attachment 3.1A&B, Supplement 1, page 6.0.1, is reimbursed on an
hourly unit of service. The Agency's rates were set as of Juby-1-2041-July 1, 2022, and are
effective for services on or after that date.

c. Therapeutic Day Treatment, as defined per Supplement 1 to Attachment 3.1A&B, page 6.0.4,
and provided by the individuals who are listed in Attachment 3.1A&B, Supplement 1, page 6.1
and defined in Attachment 3.1A&B, Supplement 1, page 6.0.1,is reimbursed based on the
following units of service: One unit = 2 to 2.99 hours; Two units = 3 to 4.99 hours; Three units
= 5 plus hours. No room and board is included in the rates for therapeutic day treatment. The
Agency's rates were set as of Juby-1-2041 July 1, 2022, and are effective for services on or after that
date.

d. Therapeutic Group Home services (formerly called Level A and Level B group home services),
as defined per Supplement 1 to Attachment 3.1A&B, page 6.2, shall be reimbursed based on a
daily unit of service. No room and board is included in the rates for therapeutic group home
services. The Agency’s rates were set as of JHy-1-2011 July 1, 2022, and are effective for
services on or after that date.

TN No. _17-009 Approval Date _10-17-17 Effective Date 10-15-17

Supersedes
TN No. New Page



Attachment 4.19-B
Page 5.2

STATEPLANUNDER TITLE XIXOF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT
State of VIRGINIA
METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATE -
OTHER TYPES OF CARE

d-1. Mental Health Intensive Outpatient services are reimbursed based on a per-diem unit that accounts
for the wages, employee costs, and other allowable costs associated with providing this service. The rate
for this service does not include costs related to roomand board or other unallowable facility costs. Except
as otherwise noted in the plan, state-developed fee schedule rates are the same for both governmental and
private providers. The Agency's fee schedule rate was set as of Juhy-3,202% July 1, 2022, and is effective
for services on or after that date. All rates are published on the agency’s website at
https://www.dmas.virginia.gov/for-providers/procedure-fee-files-cpt-codes/ - go to the header for
HCPC Codes and look for this service.

d-2. Residential Crisis Stabilization is reimbursed based on a per-diem unit. The rate for this service
does not include costs related to room and board or other unallowable facility costs. Except as otherwise
noted in the plan, state-developed fee schedule rates are the same for both governmental and private
providers. The Agency's fee schedule rate was set as of Becember1-202% July 1, 2022 and is effective
for services on or after that date. All rates are published on the agency’s website at
https://www.dmas.virginia.gov/for-providers/procedure-fee-files-cpt-codes/ - go to the header for
HCPC Codes and look for this service.

d-3. 23-Hour Residential Crisis Stabilization is a form of Residential Crisis Stabilization that is
provided as a 23-hour service and is reimbursed on a per-diem unit. The rate for this service does not
include costs related to room and board or other unallowable facility costs. Exceptas otherwise noted in
the plan, state-developed fee schedule rates are the same for both governmental and private providers.
The Agency's fee schedule rate was set as of December1-2021 July 1, 2022 and is effective for services
on or after that date. All rates are published on the agency’s website at
https://www.dmas.virginia.gov/for- providers/procedure-fee-files-cpt-codes/ - go to the header for
HCPC Codes and look for this service.

d-4. Multisystemic Therapy is reimbursed based on a 15-minute unit of service. Except as otherwise
noted in the plan, state-developed fee schedule rates are the same for both governmental and private
providers. The Agency's fee schedule rate was set as of Beeember4,-2021 July 1, 2022, and is effective
for services on or after that date. All rates are published on the agency’s website at
https://www.dmas.virginia.gov/for-providers/procedure-fee-files-cpt-codes/ - go to the header for
HCPC Codes and look for this service.

d-5. Functional Family Therapy is reimbursed based on a 15-minute unit of service. Except as otherwise
noted in the plan, state-developed fee schedule rates are the same for both governmental and private
providers. The Agency's fee schedule rate was set as of Deecember1-2021 July 1, 2022, and is effective
for services on or after that date. All rates are published on the agency’s website at
https://www.dmas.virginia.gov/for-providers/procedure-fee-files-cpt-codes/ - go to the header for
HCPC Codes and look for this service.

TN No. 21-023 Approval Date _12/15/2021 Effective Date _12/1/2021
Supersedes
TN No. _21-001
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Attachment 4.19-B
Page 6

STATEPLANUNDER TITLE XIXOF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT
State of VIRGINIA
METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATE -
OTHER TYPES OF CARE

e. Mental Health Partial Hospitalization Program services are reimbursed based on a per diem unit that accounts
for the wages, employee costs, and other allowable costs associated with providing this service. The rate for
this service does not include costs related to room and board or other unallowable facility costs. Except as
otherwise noted in the plan, state-developed fee schedule rates are the same for both governmental and private
providers. The Agency's fee schedule rate was set as of Juhy-1,2021 July 1, 2022, and is effective for services
on or after that date. All rates are published on the agency’s website at https://www.dmas.virginia.gov/for-
providers/procedure-fee- files-cpt-codes/ - go to the header for HCPC Codes and look for this service.

f. Psychosocial Rehabilitation is reimbursed based on the following units of service: One unit = 2 to 3.99 hours
per day; Two units = 4 to 6.99 hours per day; Three units = 7 + hours per day. The rates account for the
wages, employee costs, and other allowable costs associated with providing this service. The Agency's rates
were set as of Juby-1-2611 July 1, 2022, and are effective for services on or after that date. All rates are
published on the agency’s website at https://www.dmas.virginia.gov/for-providers/procedure-fee-files-
cpt-codes/ - go to the header for HCPC Codes and look for this service.

g. Mobile Crisis Response is reimbursed based on a 15-minute unit of service. The rates account for the wages,
employee costs, and other allowable costs associated with providing this service. Except as otherwise noted in
the plan, state-developed fee schedule rates are the same for both governmental and private providers. The
Agency's fee schedule rate was set as of December1-2021 July 1, 2022, and is effective for services on or
after that date. All rates are published on the agency’s website at https://www.dmas.virginia.gov/for-
providers/procedure- fee-files-cpt-codes/ - go to the header for HCPC Codes and look for this service.

h. Assertive Community Treatment is reimbursed on a daily unit of service that accounts for the wages,
employee costs, and other allowable costs associated with providing this service. The Agency's rates were
set as of Juhy-1-2021July 1, 2022, and are effective for services on or after that date. All rates are
published on the agency’s website at https://www.dmas.virginia.gov/for-providers/procedure-fee-files-cpt-
codes/ - go to the header for HCPC Codes and look for this service.

i. Community Stabilization is reimbursed on a 15 minute unit of service that accounts for the wages, employee
costs, and other allowable costs associated with providing this service. Except as otherwise noted in the plan,
state-developed fee schedule rates are the same for both governmental and private providers. The Agency's
fee schedule rate was set as of Beecember1,202% July 1, 2022, and is effective for services on or after that
date. All rates are published on the agency’s website at https://www.dmas.virginia.gov/for-
providers/procedure-fee-files-cpt-codes/ - go to the header for HCPC Codes and look for this service.

j. Independent Living and Recovery Services (previously called Mental Health Skill-Building
Services) are reimbursed based on the following units of service: One unit is 1 to 2.99 hours per day, two
units is 3to 4.99 hours per day. The rates account for the wages, employee costs, and other allowable costs
associated with providing this service The Agency's rates were set as of July-1,-2011 July 1, 2022 and are
effective for services on or after that date. All rates are published on the agency’s website at
https://www.dmas.virginia.gov/for-providers/pr ocedure-fee-files-cpt-codes/ - go to the header for
HCPC Codes and look for this service.
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Section 6 A (3), continued.

(p) Peer Support Services and Family Support Partners, as defined per Supplement 1 to Attachment 3.1A&B,
pages 54 through 59, and furnished by enrolled providers or provider agencies, shall be reimbursed based on
the agency fee schedule for 15-minute units of service. The agency's rates were set as of Jsy-1,2017 July 1,
2022, and are effective for services on or after that date. All rates are published on the DMAS website at:
www.dmas.virginia.gov. Except as otherwise noted in the plan, state-developed fee schedule rates are the
same for both governmental and private providers of (ex. case management for persons with chronic mental
illness).

(i) Peer Support Services and Family Support Partners shall not be reimbursed if the services operate
in the same building as other day services unless (i) there is a distinct separation between services in
staffing, program description, and physical space and (ii) Peer Support Services or Family Support
Partners do not impede, interrupt, or interfere with the provision of the primary service.

(ii) Family Support Partners services shall not be reimbursed for an individual who resides in a
congregate setting in which the caregivers are paid (such as child caring institutions, or any other
living environment that is not comprised of more permanent caregivers) unless (i) the individual is
actively preparing for transition back to a single-family unit, (ii) the caregiver is present during the
intervention, (iii) the service is directed to supporting the unification/reunification of the individual
and his/her caregiver and (iv) the service takes place in that home and community.
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16.1 Reimbursement for personal care services for individuals enrolled in the Medicaid Buy-In program described in
Attachment 2.6A, Supplement 8a, p 1-3 or for personal care services covered under EPSDT. All governmental and private
prowders are relmbursed accordlng to the same publlshed fee schedule—leeated—entheAgeneyewele&teet—theieHetmng

W , . All rates are
publlshed on the DMAS WebS|te at WWW. dmas V|rqm|a qov The Agencys rates based upon one-hour mcrements were
set as of Janwary—1—2022 July 1, 2022, and shall be effective for 1902(a) state plan authorized services on and after
that date. Qualifying overtime for consumer-directed personal care provided under EPSDT will be paid 150% of the fee
schedule, and qualifying sick leave for consumer —directed personal care provided under EPSDT will be at 100% of
the fee schedule.

16.1.a. Reimbursement for consumer-directed services facilitator services under EPSDT as described per Supplement 1 to
Attachment 3.1A&B, pages 6.4.7 & 6.4.8. All governmental and private providers are reimbursed according to the same
published fee schedule, located on the DMAS website at www.dmas.virginia.gov. The Agency's rates were set as of July
1, 2022, and shall be effective for services provided on and after that date.

16.2. Private duty nursing services covered under EPSDT as defined per Supplement 1 to Attachment 3.1A&B, page
6.4.8, with provider qualifications on page 6.4.8, are reimbursed based on a 15-minute unit of service in accordance with
the State Agency fee schedule. The fee schedule is the same for both governmental and private providers and was set as
of August-8;2021 July 1, 2022 and shall be effective for services provided on and after that date. The state agency fee
schedule is published on the DMAS website at httpsHwww.dmas.virginia-gov/for-providersigeneral-
information/procedure-fee-files-cpt-codes/ www.dmas.virginia.gov.

16.3 Medical Supplies, Equipment and Appliances (assistive technology) covered under EPSDT, as defined per
Supplement 1 to Attachment 3.1 A&B, page 6.4.9, with provider qualifications on page 6.4.10. The service shall be
reimbursed based upon the total cost of all AT incurred by the provider.

16.4 Reserved.

16.5 Hospice services, as defined per Attachment 3.1 A&B, Supplement 1, pages 33-37. Hospice services payments are
effective October 1 annually and are equivalent to the annual Medicaid hospice rates published by CMS. As of July 1,
2019, room and board will be reimbursed at a rate equal to 100 percent of the skilled nursing facility rate for Medicaid
members receiving hospice services who reside in a nursing facility. Hospice services shall be paid according to the
location of the service delivery and not the location of the Agency's home office. Payments to a hospice for inpatient care
are limited according to the number of days of inpatient care furnished to Medicaid members. During the twelve (12)
month period beginning October 1 of each year and ending September 30 of the next year, the aggregate number of
inpatient days (both general inpatient days and inpatient respite care days) for any given hospice provider may not exceed
twenty percent (20%) of the total number of days of hospice care provided to all Medicaid members during the same
period.

Services that are included in the hospice reimbursement are: (a) Routine Home Care where most hospice care is provided

- Days 1- 60; (b) Routine Home Care where most hospice care is provided-Days 61 and over; (c) Continuous Home Care;

(d) Hospice Inpatient Respite Care; (e) Hospice General Inpatient Care; (f) Service Intensity Add-On (SIA) will be made
for a visit by a social worker or a registered nurse (RN), when provided during routine home care provided in the last 7
days of a Medicaid member' s life. The SIA payment is in addition to the routine home care rate. The SIA Medicaid
reimbursement will be equal to the Continuous Home Care hourly payment rate (as calculated annually by CMS),
multiplied by the amount of direct patient care hours provided by an RN or social worker for up to four (4) hours total
that occurred on the day of service, and adjusted by the appropriate hospice wage index published by CMS.

16.3.1 Effective July 1, 2019, the telehealth originating site facility fee shall be set at 100 percent of the Medicare rate and shall
reflect changes annually based on any changes in the Medicare rate.
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16.6. Applied Behavior Analysis Services are reimbursed based on a 15-minute unit of service.

The agency’s rates were set as of Apri-12012 July 1, 2022 and are effective for services on
or after that date. All governmental and private providers are reimbursed according to the
same published fee schedule, located on the agency’s website at the following address:

https://www.dmas.virginia.gov/for-providers/procedure-fee-files-cpt-codes/ - go to the header
“Search CPT Codes.”
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18.5. Supplemental payments for services provided by physicians affiliated with Eastern
Virginia Medical Center Physicians.

a. In addition to payment for physician services specified elsewhere in the State Plan, DMAS
provides supplemental payments to physicians affiliated with Eastern Virginia Medical
Center Physicians fer-furnished-servicesprovided-on-orafter-October1;2012. A physician
affiliated with Eastern Virginia Medical Center Physicians is a physician who is employed
by a publicly- funded medical school that is a political subdivision of the Commonwealth
of Virginia, who provides clinical services through the faculty practice plan affiliated with
the publicly funded medical school, and has entered into contractual arrangements for the
assignment of payment in accordance with 42 CFR 447.10.

b. Effective Oetober1-2021 July 1, 2022 the supplemental payment amount shaII be the
difference between the Medica

Medaear&rates averaqe commerC|aI rate (ACR) approved bv CMS and the pavments

otherwise made to physicians. The methodology for determining the Medicare
Equivalent of the Average Commercial Rate is described in, Supplement 6, Attachment

4.19-B.
c.Supplemental payments shall be made quarterly, no later than 90 days after the end of the
quarter.
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d. To determine the aggregate upper payment limit referred to in subdivision 18 b(3),
Medicaid payments to nonstate government-owned or operated clinics will be divided
by the "additional factor” whose calculation is described in Attachment 4.19- B,
Supplement 4 (12 VAC 30-80-190) in regard to the state agency fee schedule for
RBRVS. Medicaid pa?/ments will be estimated usmg payments for dates of service
from the prior fiscal year adjusted for expected claim payments. Additional
adjustments will be made for any program changes in Medicare or Medicaid payments.

18.1. Supplemental payments for services provided by physicians at freestanding children's
hospitals serving children in planning district 8.

a. In addition to payments for physician services specified elsewhere in the State Plan,
DMAS shall make supplemental payments for p dysicians employed at a freestanding
children's hospital serving children in planning district 8 with more than 50 percent
Medicaid inpatient utilization in fiscal year 2014. This applies to physician practices
affiliated with Children's National Health System.

b. The supplemental Bayment amount for qualifying physician services shall be the
maximum allowed by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services to meet the
requirements of Section 1902(a)(30)(A) of the Social Security Act (the Act) that
Medicaid payments be “consistent with efficiency, economy, and quality of care.”
The methodology for determining allowable percent of Medicare rates and
distributing supplemental payments to qualifying providers is based on the Medicare
equivalent of the average commercial rate
described on the Medicaid.gov  website at
https://www.medicaid.gov/medicaid/financial-management/payment-limit-
demonstrations/index.html under the “Qualified Practitioner Services Average
Commercial Rate” section and in Supplement 6.

c.Supplemental payments shall be made quarterly no later than 90 days after the end of
the (iuarter. Any quarterly payment that would have been due prior to the approval date
shall be made no later than 90 days after the approval date.
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18.2 Supplemental payments for services provided by physicians at general acute care non-state
government owned hospitals.

a. In addition to payments for physician services specified elsewhere in the State Plan,
DMAS shall make supplemental payments for general acute care non-state
government owned hospitals. This applies to physician practices employed by or
under contract with general acute care non-state government owned hospitals.

b. The supplemental payment amount for qualifying physician services shall be
the maximum allowed by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services to meet
the requirements of Section 1902(a)(30)(A) of the Social Security Act (the Act)
that Medicaid payments be “consistent with efficiency, economy, and quality of ~
care.” The methodology for determining allowable percent of Medicare rates and
distributing supplemental payments to qualifying providers is based on the Medicare
equivalent of the average commercial rate
described on the Medicaid.gov  website at
https://www.medicaid.gov/medicaid/financial-management/payment-limit-
demonstrations/index.html under the “Qualified Practitioner Services Average
Commercial Rate” section and in Supplement 6.

c. Supplemental payments shall be made quarterly no later than 90 days after the end of the
guarter. Any quarterly payment that would have been due prior to the approval date shall
be made no later than 90 days after the approval date.
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(n.b. this page follows J.1 [now K] on Page 9 of 15, of Attachment 4.19-B)

J.

2. Targeted case management for Early Intervention (Part C) Children.

a. Targeted case management for children from birth to age three who have developmental delay who
are in need of early intervention is reimbursed at the lower of the state agency fee schedule or actual
charge (charge to the general public). The unit of service is monthly. All private and governmental fee-
for-service providers are reimbursed according to the same methodology. The agency’s rates were set as
of Oeteber11,2011 July 1, 2022, and are effective for services on or after that date. Rates are published
on the agency’s website at www.dmas.virginia.gov.

b. Case management may not be billed when it is an integral part of another Medicaid service including,
but not limited to, intensive community treatment services, and intensive in-home services for children
and adolescents.

c. Case management defined for another target group shall not be billed concurrently with this case
management service except for case management services for high risk infants provided under 12 VAC
30-50-410. Providers of early intervention case management shall coordinate services with providers of
case management services for high risk infants, pursuant to 12 VAC 30-50-410, to ensure that services
are not duplicated.

d. Each entity receiving payment for services as defined in Section 3.1-A will be required to furnish
the following to the Medicaid agency, upon request:
i. data, by practitioner, on the utilization by Medicaid beneficiaries of the services included in the
unit rate; and,

ii. cost information by practitioner.

Future rate updates will be based on information obtained from the providers. DMAS monitors the
provision of Targeted Case Management through Post-Payment Review (PPR). PPRs ensure that paid
services were rendered appropriately, in accordance with State and Federal policies and program
requirements, provided in a timely manner, and paid correctly.
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12 VAC 30-80-110

Reimbursement for Targeted Case Management for Seriously Mentally 11l Adults and Emotionally
Disturbed Children and for Youth At Risk of Serious Emotional Disturbance.

1. Targeted case management services for seriously mentally ill adults and emotionally disturbed
children defined in § 2 of Supplement 2 to Attachment 3.1-A or for youth at risk of serious
emotional disturbance defined in § 3 of Supplement 2 to Attachment 3.1-A, shall be reimbursed at
the lower of the State Agency Fee Schedule or the actual charge (charge to the general public). The
unit of service is monthly. All private and governmental fee-for-service providers are reimbursed
according to the same methodology. The agency’s rates were Set as of September10,-2013 July 1,
2022, and are effective for services on or after that date. Rates are published on the agency’s website
at www.dmas.virginia.gov.

2. Case management for seriously mentally ill adults and emotionally disturbed children and for youth
at risk of serious emotional disturbance may not be billed when it is an integral part of another
Medicaid service including, but not limited to, intensive community treatment services , and
intensive in-home services for children and adolescents.

3. Case management defined for another target group shall not be billed concurrently with these case
management services.

4. Each provider receiving payment for these services will be required to furnish the following to
the Medicaid agency, upon request:
a. Data on the hourly utilization of these services furnished Medicaid members; and,
b. Cost information by practitioner furnishing these services.
5. Rate updates will be based on utilization and cost information obtained fromthe providers.
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12 VAC 30-80-110

Reimbursement Targeted Case Management for Individuals with Intellectual Disability.

1. Targeted case management for individuals with intellectual disability defined in § 4 of Supplement
2 to Attachment 3.1-A, shall be reimbursed at the lower of the State Agency Fee Schedule or the
actual charge (charge to the general public). The unit of service is monthly. All private and
governmental fee-for-service providers are reimbursed according to the same methodology. The
agency’s rates were set as of September10,2013 July 1, 2022, and are effective for services on or
after that date. Rates are published on the agency’s website at www.dmas.virginia.gov.
2. Case management for individuals with intellectual disability may not be billed when it is an
integral part of another Medicaid service.
3. Case management defined for another target group shall not be billed concurrently with this case
management service
4. Each provider receiving payment for this service will be required to furnish the following to the
Medicaid agency, upon request:
a. Data onthe hourly utilization of this service furnished Medicaid members; and,
b. Cost information by practitioner furnishing this service.
5. Rate updates will be based on utilization and cost information obtained from the providers
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12 VAC 30-80-110

Reimbursement for Targeted Case Management for Individuals with Developmental Disability

1. Targeted case management for individuals with developmental disability defined in 8 5 of
Supplement 2 to Attachment 3.1-A, shall be reimbursed at the lower of the State Agency Fee
Schedule or the actual charge (charge to the general public). The unit of service is monthly. All
private and governmental fee-for-service providers are reimbursed according to the same
methodology. The agency’s rates were set as of August2-2016 July 1, 2022, and are effective for
services on or after that date. Rates are published on the agency’s website at
www.dmas.virginia.gov.

2. Case management for individuals with developmental disability may not be billed when it is an
integral part of another Medicaid service.

3. Case management defined for another target group shall not be billed concurrently with this case
management service.

4. Each entity receiving payment for this service will be required to furnish the following to the
Medicaid agency, upon request:

a. Data onthe hourly utilization of this service furnished Medicaid members; and,
b. Costinformation by practitioner furnishing this service.

5. Rate updates will be based on information obtained from the providers.
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1. DMAS shall calculate the RBRVS-based fees using conversion factors (CFs) published from time to time
by CMS. CMS publishes separate CFs for Anesthesia services versus all other procedures and services.
DMAS shall adjust CMS’s CFs by additional factors for each sub-category as defined in Section 3(d) and
calculated according to section 3(c) so that no change in expenditure will result solely from the implementation
of the RBRVS-based fee schedule. DMAS may revise the additional factors when CMS updates its RVUs or
CFs so that no change in expenditure will result solely from such updates. Except for this adjustment, DMAS’
CFs shall be the same as those published from time to time by CMS. The calculation of the additional factors
shall be based on the assumption that no change in services provided will occur as a result of these changes
to the fee schedule.

2. For non-anesthesia services, the determination of the additional adjustment factors
for each applicable procedure and service sub-category required above shall be calculated with patient
claims data from the most recent period of time (at least six months) as the ratio of the estimated total
expenditures for the sub-category using DMAS fees divided by the estimated total expenditures for the sub-
category using Medicare fees:

a. The estimated amount of DMAS expenditures using MedicareZs fees is calculated using Medicare RVUs and
CFs without modification. For each procedure code and modifier combination that has RVU values published
by CMS, the RVU value is multiplied by the applicable Medicare CF published by the CMS to get the
estimated price that Medicare would pay for the service or procedure. The estimated Medicare fee for each
procedure code and modifier combination is then multiplied by the number of occurrences of the combination
in the DMAS patient claims. All expenditures by procedure code/modifier combination are summed to get the
total estimated amount DMAS expenditures would be using Medicare fees.

b. The estimated amount of DMAS expenditures, if DMAS used its existing fees, across all relevant procedure
codes and modifier combinations with RVU values is calculated as the sum of the existing DMAS fee
multiplied by the number of occurrences of the procedure code/modifier combination in DMAS patient claims.

¢. The relevant adjustment factor for the sub-category is equal to the ratio of the expenditure estimate
(based on DMAS fees in subdivision 3b of this subsection) to the expenditure estimate based on unmodified
CMS values in subdivision 3a of this subsection.

d. DMAS shall calculate separate additional adjustment factors for each sub-category as-defined-in-Section-
3{d)-and-calculated-according-to-section-3(c)-for:. Sub-categories are defined according to categorizations
provided in the American Medical Association’s (AMA’s) annual publication of the Current Procedural
Terminology (CPT) as:

Q) Emergency Room Services {defined as

the-American-Medical- Association’s-(AMA)-annual-
publication-of-the-Current-Procedural Ferminology(CPT) CPT codes 99281, 99282, 99283, 99284,
and 99285);

2) Obstetrical/Gynecological Services (OBGYN) defined as Maternity Care and Delivery
procedures, Female Genital System procedures, Obstetrical/Gynecological-related radiological

procedures and mammography procedures—&s—deﬁneé—by—the—Afnefte&H—l\4edieal—Asseetaﬂefks—

TN " 2-016 S Apprval Date9/15/ B Effective Date _ 07-01-21
Supersedes
TN No. 10-01



Supplement 4
Attachment 4.19-B
Page 3

STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT

State of VIRGINIA

METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATES -- OTHER TYPES OF CARE
ESTABLISHMENT OF RATE PER VISIT

3 Pediatric preventive services {defined as Evaluation and Management (E&M)
procedures, excluding those listed in 3{e}{2) 2(d)(1) and 2(d)(6) of this subsection, as-defined-by-
the-AMA s-annual-publication-of the- CPT-manual; in effect at the time the service is provided,
for recipients under age 21;

(@) Pediatric primary services {defined as evaluation-and-management{E&M) procedures,
excluding those listed in subdivisions 3(e}2) 2(d)(1), and 3e{3) 2(d)(3), and 2(d)(6) of this
subsection, as-defined-by-the- AMA s-publication-of-the CPT-manual; in effect at the time the

service is provided, for recipients under age 21;
(5) Adult primary and preventive services defined as E&M procedures, excluding those listed

in 32} 2(d)(1) and 2(d)(6) of this subsection;-as-defined-by-the AMA s-annual-publication-of
the-CPT-manual, in effect at the time the service is provided, for recipients age 21 and over;

(6) Effective July 1, 2019, psychiatric services as-defined-by-the-American-Medical-
Association’s-anpual-publication-ofthe CPT-manual; in effect at the time the service is provided;

and

(7) All other procedures defined as any remaining procedures set through the RBRV'S process
combined.

3. For those services or procedures for which there are no established RVUs DMAS shall
approximate a reasonable relative value payment level by looking to similar existing relative
value fees. If DMAS is unable to establish a relative value payment level for any service or
procedure, the fee shall not be based on a RBRVS, but shall instead be based on the percent of
billed charges. The billed charges shall be multiplied by the Budget Neutral factor calculated in
Attachment 4.19-B, Supplement 4, page 2, paragraph 2. Billed charges shall not exceed the
provider’s usual and customary charges.

4. Fees shall not vary by geographic locality.
TN No. __ 21-016 Approval Date _ 9/15/21 Effective Date __07-01-21
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STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT

State of VIRGINIA

METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATES -- OTHER TYPES OF CARE

ESTABLISHMENT OF RATE PER VISIT

B: A. Effective July 1, 2021, rates for psychiatric services shall be increased by 14.7 percent to
the equivalent of 110 percent of Medicare rates.

B- B. Effective July 1, 2021, the practitioner rates for anesthesiologists shall be increased to reflect
the equivalent of 70 percent of the 2019 Medicare rates.

C. Effective July 1, 2022, rates for OBGYN services shall be increased by 15%.

D. Effective July 1, 2022, rates for adult primary and preventive services defined as E&M
procedures, excluding those listed in 2(d)(1) and 2(d)(6) of this subsection, in effect at the time the
service is provided, for recipients age 21 and over shall be increased by 16.1% to reflect the
equivalent of 80% of the 2021 Medicare rates.

E. Effective July 1, 2022, rates for pediatric primary services defined as E&M procedures
excluding those listed in 2(d)(1), 2(d)(3), and 2(d)(6) of this subsection, in effect at the time the
service is provided, for recipients under age 21 shall be increased by 7.9% to reflect the equivalent
of 80% of the 2021 Medicare rates.

F. Effective July 1, 2022, rates for children’s covered vision care services defined as
ophthalmology procedures in effect at the time the service is provided, for recipients under age 21,
shall be increased by 30%.

Except as otherwise noted in the plan, state-developed fee schedule rates are the same for both
governmental and private providers of practitioner services. All rates are published in the DMAS
website, and may be found at: http://www.dmas.virginia.gov/ . The fee schedule for rates based on
the methodology described in this supplement tied to Medicare's annual update of RBRVS is updated
each July 1, based on the methodology described in this supplement.

TN No. 21-016 Approval Date _9/15/21 Eftective Date: //1/2021
Supersedes
TN No. 19-008


http://www.dmas.virginia.gov/

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH ANDHUMAN SERVICES
CENTERS FOR MEDICARE & MEDICAID SERVICES

FORM APPROVED
OMB No. 0938-0193

TRANSMITTAL AND NOTICE OF APPROVAL OF

STATE PLAN MATERIAL
FOR: CENTERS FOR MEDICARE & MEDICAID SERVICES

1. TRANSMITTAL NUMBER 2. STATE
2 2 —0 0 1 8 VA

3. PROGRAM IDENTIFICATION: TITLE OF THE SOCIAL

SECURITY ACT @ XX O XX

TO: CENTER DIRECTOR
CENTERS FOR MEDICAID & CHIP SERVICES

4. PROPOSED EFFECTIVE DATE

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES 71112022
5. FEDERAL STATUTE/REGULATION CITATION 6. FEDERAL BUDGET IMPACT (Amounts in WHOLE dollars)
a FFY__ 2022 $ 15,631,796
42 CFR 447 b, FFY 2023 $ 90,947,258

7. PAGE NUMBER OF THE PLAN SECTION OR ATTACHMENT

Attachment 4.19-B, revised pages 5, 5.1, 5.2, 6, 6.0.4, 6.2.1,
6.2.1.1,6.4.1,7.1, 7.1-A (new), 9.02, 9.1C, 9.1D, 9.1E

Attachment 4.19B, Supp 4, pages 2, 3, 4

8. PAGE NUMBER OF THE SUPERSEDED PLAN SECTION
OR ATTACHMENT (If Applicable)

Same as box #7.

9. SUBJECT OF AMENDMENT

2022 Non-Institutional Provider Reimbursement Changes

10. GOVERNOR’S REVIEW (Check One)

O GOVERNOR'’S OFFICE REPORTED NO COMMENT
COMMENTS OF GOVERNOR'’S OFFICE ENCLOSED
O NO REPLY RECEIVED WITHIN 45 DAYS OF SUBMITTAL

(®) OTHER, AS SPECIFIED:
Secretary of Health and Human Resources

11. SIGNATURE OF STATE AGENCY OFFICIAL
Cheryl Roberts

12. TYPED NAME
Cheryl J. Roberts

13. TITLE
Acting Director

14. DATE SUBMITTED

08/3//22-

15. RETURN TO

Department of Medical Assistance Services
600 East Broad Street, #1300
Richmond VA 23219

Attn: Policy, Regulations, and Manuals Supervisor

FOR CMS

USE ONLY

16. DATE RECEIVED

17. DATE APPROVED

PLAN APPROVED - ONE COPY ATTACHED

18. EFFECTIVE DATE OF APPROVED MATERIAL

19. SIGNATURE OF APPROVING OFFICIAL

20. TYPED NAME OF APPROVING OFFICIAL

21. TITLE OF APPROVING OFFICIAL

22. REMARKS

FORM CMS-179 (09/24)

Instructions on Back



Attachment 4.19-B
Page 5

STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT

State of VIRGINIA

METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATE-
OTHER TYPES OF CARE

6.A. 2. Dentists' services: Dental services, dental provider qualifications and dental service limits are identified in
Attachment 3.1A&B, Supplement 1, page 16.1 and 16.1.1. Dental services are paid based on procedure codes
which are listed in the Agency' fee schedule rate, effective July 1, 2022. All rates are published on the DMAS website at
www.dmas.virginia.gov. Except as otherwise noted in the plan, state developed fee schedule rates are the same for both

governmental and private individual practitioners.
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STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT
State of VIRGINIA

METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATE-
OTHER TYPES OF CARE

6.A. 3. Mental health services
a. Professional services furnished by non-physicians, as described in 3.1A&B, Supplement 1,
page 7 and page 11. These services are reimbursed using CPT codes. The agency’s fee
schedule rate is based on the methodology described in Attachment 4-19B, page 4.8, section 6

(A) 1.

(i) Services provided by licensed clinical psychologists shall be reimbursed at 90% of the
reimbursement rate for psychiatrists in Attachment 4-19B, page 4.8, section 6 (A) 1.

(ii) Services provided by independently enrolled licensed clinical social workers, licensed
professional counselors, licensed clinical nurse specialists-psychiatric, or licensed
marriage and family therapists shall be reimbursed at 75% of the reimbursement rate for
licensed clinical psychologists.

b. Intensive In-Home, as defined per Supplement 1 to Attachment 3.1A&B, Supplement 1, page
6.0.2, and provided by the individuals who are listed in Attachment 3.1A&B, Supplement 1,
page 6.0.3 and defined in Attachment 3.1A&B, Supplement 1, page 6.0.1, is reimbursed on an
hourly unit of service. The Agency's rates were set as of July 1, 2022, and are effective for
services on or after that date.

c. Therapeutic Day Treatment, as defined per Supplement 1 to Attachment 3.1A&B, page 6.0.4,
and provided by the individuals who are listed in Attachment 3.1A&B, Supplement 1, page 6.1
and defined in Attachment 3.1A&B, Supplement 1, page 6.0.1,is reimbursed based on the
following units of service: One unit = 2 to 2.99 hours; Two units = 3 to 4.99 hours; Three units
= 5 plus hours. No room and board is included in the rates for therapeutic day treatment. The
Agency's rates were set as of July 1, 2022, and are effective for services on or after that date.

d. Therapeutic Group Home services (formerly called Level A and Level B group home services),
as defined per Supplement 1 to Attachment 3.1A&B, page 6.2, shall be reimbursed based on a
daily unit of service. No room and board is included in the rates for therapeutic group home
services. The Agency’s rates were set as of July 1, 2022, and are effective for services on or
after that date.

TN No. _22-0018 Approval Date Effective Date 07-01-22
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STATEPLANUNDER TITLE XIXOF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT

State of VIRGINIA
METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATE -

OTHER TYPES OF CARE

d-1. Mental Health Intensive Outpatient services are reimbursed based on a per-diem unit that accounts
for the wages, employee costs, and other allowable costs associated with providing this service. The rate
for this service does not include costs related to roomand board or other unallowable facility costs. Except
as otherwise noted in the plan, state-developed fee schedule rates are the same for both governmental and
private providers. The Agency's fee schedule rate was set as of July 1, 2022, and is effective for services
on or after that date. All rates are published on the agency’s website at
https://www.dmas.virginia.gov/for-providers/procedure-fee-files-cpt-codes/ - go to the header for
HCPC Codes and look for this service.

d-2. Residential Crisis Stabilization is reimbursed based on a per-diem unit. The rate for this service
does not include costs related to room and board or other unallowable facility costs. Except as otherwise
noted in the plan, state-developed fee schedule rates are the same for both governmental and private
providers. The Agency's fee schedule rate was set as of July 1, 2022 and is effective for services on or
after that date. All rates are published on the agency’s website at https://www.dmas.virginia.gov/for-
providers/procedure-fee-files-cpt-codes/ - go to the header for HCPC Codes and look for this
service.

d-3. 23-Hour Residential Crisis Stabilization is a form of Residential Crisis Stabilization that is
provided as a 23-hour service and is reimbursed on a per-diem unit. The rate for this service does not
include costs related to room and board or other unallowable facility costs. Exceptas otherwise noted in
the plan, state-developed fee schedule rates are the same for both governmental and private providers.
The Agency's fee schedule rate was set as of July 1, 2022 and is effective for services on or after that
date. All rates are published on the agency’s website at https://www.dmas.virginia.gov/for-
providers/procedure-fee-files-cpt-codes/ - go to the header for HCPC Codes and look for this
service.

d-4. Multisystemic Therapy is reimbursed based on a 15-minute unit of service. Except as otherwise
noted in the plan, state-developed fee schedule rates are the same for both governmental and private
providers. The Agency's fee schedule rate was set as of July 1, 2022, and is effective for services on or
after that date. All rates are published on the agency’s website at https://www.dmas.virginia.gov/for-
providers/procedure-fee-files-cpt-codes/ - go to the header for HCPC Codes and look for this
service.

d-5. Functional Family Therapy is reimbursed based on a 15-minute unit of service. Except as otherwise
noted in the plan, state-developed fee schedule rates are the same for both governmental and private
providers. The Agency's fee schedule rate was set as of July 1, 2022, and is effective for services on or
after that date. All rates are published on the agency’s website at https://www.dmas.virginia.gov/for-
providers/procedure-fee-files-cpt-codes/ - go to the header for HCPC Codes and look for this
service.

TN No. 22-0018 Approval Date ~ Effective Date _ 07/01/2022
Supersedes
TN No. _21-023
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STATEPLANUNDER TITLE XIXOF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT
State of VIRGINIA
METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATE -
OTHER TYPES OF CARE

e. Mental Health Partial Hospitalization Program services are reimbursed based on a per diem unit that accounts
for the wages, employee costs, and other allowable costs associated with providing this service. The rate for
this service does not include costs related to room and board or other unallowable facility costs. Except as
otherwise noted in the plan, state-developed fee schedule rates are the same for both governmental and private
providers. The Agency's fee schedule rate was set as of July 1, 2022, and is effective for services on or after
that date. All rates are published on the agency’s website at https://www.dmas.virginia.gov/for-
providers/procedure-fee- files-cpt-codes/ - go to the header for HCPC Codes and look for this service.

f. Psychosocial Rehabilitation is reimbursed based on the following units of service: One unit = 2 to 3.99 hours
per day; Two units = 4 to 6.99 hours per day; Three units = 7 + hours per day. The rates account for the
wages, employee costs, and other allowable costs associated with providing this service. The Agency's rates
were set as of July 1, 2022, and are effective for services on or after that date. All rates are published on
the agency’s website at https://www.dmas.virginia.gov/for-providers/procedure-fee-files- cpt-codes/ - go
to the header for HCPC Codes and look for this service.

g. Mobile Crisis Response is reimbursed based on a 15-minute unit of service. The rates account for the wages,
employee costs, and other allowable costs associated with providing this service. Except as otherwise noted in
the plan, state-developed fee schedule rates are the same for both governmental and private providers. The
Agency's fee schedule rate was set as of July 1, 2022, and is effective for services on or after that date. All
rates are published on the agency’s website at https://www.dmas.virginia.gov/for- providers/procedure- fee-
files-cpt-codes/ - go to the header for HCPC Codes and look for this service.

h. Assertive Community Treatment is reimbursed on a daily unit of service that accounts for the wages,
employee costs, and other allowable costs associated with providing this service. The Agency's rates were
set as of July 1, 2022, and are effective for services on or after that date. All rates are published on the
agency’s website at https://www.dmas.virginia.gov/for-providers/procedure-fee-files-cpt- codes/ - go to
the header for HCPC Codes and look for this service.

i. Community Stabilization is reimbursed on a 15 minute unit of service that accounts for the wages, employee
costs, and other allowable costs associated with providing this service. Except as otherwise noted in the plan,
state-developed fee schedule rates are the same for both governmental and private providers. The Agency's
fee schedule rate was set as of July 1, 2022, and is effective for services on or after that date. All rates are
published on the agency’s website at https://www.dmas.virginia.gov/for- providers/procedure-fee-files-
cpt-codes/ - go to the header for HCPC Codes and look for this service.

j. Independent Living and Recovery Services (previously called Mental Health Skill-Building
Services) are reimbursed based on the following units of service: One unit is 1 to 2.99 hours per day, two
units is 3to 4.99 hours per day. The rates account for the wages, employee costs, and other allowable costs
associated with providing this service The Agency's rates were set as of July 1, 2022 and are effective for
services on or after that date. All rates are published on the agency’s website at
https://www.dmas.virginia.gov/for-providers/pr ocedure-fee-files-cpt-codes/ - go to the header for
HCPC Codes and look for this service.

TN No. _ 22-0018 Approval Date Effective Date _07/01/2022
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STATEPLANUNDER TITLE XIXOF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT

State of VIRGINIA

METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATE-
OTHER TYPES OF CARE

Section 6 A (3), continued.

(p) Peer Support Services and Family Support Partners, as defined per Supplement 1 to Attachment 3.1A&B,
pages 54 through 59, and furnished by enrolled providers or provider agencies, shall be reimbursed based on
the agency fee schedule for 15-minute units of service. The agency's rates were set as of July 1, 2022, and
are effective for services on or after that date. All rates are published on the DMAS website at:
www.dmas.virginia.gov. Except as otherwise noted in the plan, state-developed fee schedule rates are the
same for both governmental and private providers of (ex. case management for persons with chronic mental
illness).

(i) Peer Support Services and Family Support Partners shall not be reimbursed if the services operate
in the same building as other day services unless (i) there is a distinct separation between services in
staffing, program description, and physical space and (ii) Peer Support Services or Family Support
Partners do not impede, interrupt, or interfere with the provision of the primary service.

(ii) Family Support Partners services shall not be reimbursed for an individual who resides in a
congregate setting in which the caregivers are paid (such as child caring institutions, or any other
living environment that is not comprised of more permanent caregivers) unless (i) the individual is
actively preparing for transition back to a single-family unit, (ii) the caregiver is present during the
intervention, (iii) the service is directed to supporting the unification/reunification of the individual
and his/her caregiver and (iv) the service takes place in that home and community.

TN No. _22-0018 Approval Date Effective Date _7-1-22
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STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT
State of VIRGINIA

METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATE-
OTHER TYPES OF CARE

16.1 Reimbursement for personal care services for individuals enrolled in the Medicaid Buy-In program described in
Attachment 2.6A, Supplement 8a, p 1-3 or for personal care services covered under EPSDT. All governmental and private
providers are reimbursed according to the same published fee schedule. All rates are published on the DMAS website at
www.dmas.virginia.gov. The Agency's rates, based upon one-hour increments, were set as of July 1, 2022, and shall be
effective for 1902(a) state plan authorized services on and after that date. Qualifying overtime for consumer-directed
personal care provided under EPSDT will be paid 150% of the fee schedule, and qualifying sick leave for consumer —
directed personal care provided under EPSDT will be at 100% of the fee schedule.

16.1.a. Reimbursement for consumer-directed services facilitator services under EPSDT as described per Supplement 1 to
Attachment 3.1A&B, pages 6.4.7 & 6.4.8. All governmental and private providers are reimbursed according to the same
published fee schedule, located on the DMAS website at www.dmas.virginia.gov. The Agency's rates were set as of July
1, 2022, and shall be effective for services provided on and after that date.

16.2. Private duty nursing services covered under EPSDT as defined per Supplement 1 to Attachment 3.1A&B, page
6.4.8, with provider qualifications on page 6.4.8, are reimbursed based on a 15-minute unit of service in accordance with
the State Agency fee schedule. The fee schedule is the same for both governmental and private providers and was set as
of July 1, 2022_and shall be effective for services provided on and after that date. The state agency fee schedule is
published on the DMAS website at www.dmas.virginia.gov.

16.3 Medical Supplies, Equipment and Appliances (assistive technology) covered under EPSDT, as defined per
Supplement 1 to Attachment 3.1 A&B, page 6.4.9, with provider qualifications on page 6.4.10. The service shall be
reimbursed based upon the total cost of all AT incurred by the provider.

16.4 Reserved.

16.5 Hospice services, as defined per Attachment 3.1 A&B, Supplement 1, pages 33-37. Hospice services payments are
effective October 1 annually and are equivalent to the annual Medicaid hospice rates published by CMS. As of July 1,
2019, room and board will be reimbursed at a rate equal to 100 percent of the skilled nursing facility rate for Medicaid
members receiving hospice services who reside in a nursing facility. Hospice services shall be paid according to the
location of the service delivery and not the location of the Agency's home office. Payments to a hospice for inpatient care
are limited according to the number of days of inpatient care furnished to Medicaid members. During the twelve (12)
month period beginning October 1 of each year and ending September 30 of the next year, the aggregate humber of
inpatient days (both general inpatient days and inpatient respite care days) for any given hospice provider may not exceed
twenty percent (20%) of the total number of days of hospice care provided to all Medicaid members during the same
period.

Services that are included in the hospice reimbursement are: (a) Routine Home Care where most hospice care is provided

- Days 1- 60; (b) Routine Home Care where most hospice care is provided-Days 61 and over; (c) Continuous Home Care;

(d) Hospice Inpatient Respite Care; (e) Hospice General Inpatient Care; (f) Service Intensity Add-On (SIA) will be made
for a visit by a social worker or a registered nurse (RN), when provided during routine home care provided in the last 7
days of a Medicaid member' s life. The SIA payment is in addition to the routine home care rate. The SIA Medicaid
reimbursement will be equal to the Continuous Home Care hourly payment rate (as calculated annually by CMS),
multiplied by the amount of direct patient care hours provided by an RN or social worker for up to four (4) hours total
that occurred on the day of service, and adjusted by the appropriate hospice wage index published by CMS.

16.3.1 Effective July 1, 2019, the telehealth originating site facility fee shall be set at 100 percent of the Medicare rate and shall
reflect changes annually based on any changes in the Medicare rate.
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STATEPLANUNDER TITLE XIXOF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT

State of VIRGINIA

METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATE -
OTHER TYPES OF CARE

16.6. Applied Behavior Analysis Services are reimbursed based on a 15-minute unit of service.
The agency’s rates were set as of July 1, 2022 and are effective for services on or after that
date. All governmental and private providers are reimbursed according to the same
published fee schedule, located on the agency’s website at the following address:
https://www.dmas.virginia.gov/for-providers/procedure-fee-files-cpt-codes/ - go to the header
“Search CPT Codes.”
TN No. 22-0018 ApprovalDate Effective Date _ 7/1/2022
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OTHER TYPES OF CARE

18.5. Supplemental payments for services provided by physicians affiliated with Eastern
Virginia Medical Center Physicians.

a. In addition to payment for physician services specified elsewhere in the State Plan, DMAS
provides supplemental payments to physicians affiliated with Eastern Virginia Medical
Center Physicians. A physician affiliated with Eastern Virginia Medical Center Physicians
is a physician who is employed by a publicly- funded medical school that is a political
subdivision of the Commonwealth of Virginia, who provides clinical services through the
faculty practice plan affiliated with the publicly funded medical school, and has entered

into contractual arrangements for the assignment of payment in accordance with 42 CFR
447.10.

b. Effective July 1, 2022, the supplemental payment amount shall be the difference
between the average commercial rate (ACR) approved by CMS and the payments
otherwise made to physicians. The methodology for determining the Medicare
Equivalent of the Average Commercial Rate is described in, Supplement 6, Attachment

4.19-B.
c.Supplemental payments shall be made quarterly, no later than 90 days after the end of the
quarter.
TN No. __ 22-0018 Approval Date Effective Date _7/01/2022
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STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT
State of VIRGINIA

METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATE-
OTHER TYPES OF CARE

d. To determine the aggregate upper payment limit referred to in subdivision 18 b(3),
Medicaid payments to nonstate government-owned or operated clinics will be divided
by the "additional factor" whose calculation is described in Attachment 4.19- B,
Supplement 4 (12 VAC 30-80-190) in regard to the state agency fee schedule for
RBRVS. Medicaid pa?/ments will be estimated usmg payments for dates of service
from the prior fiscal year adjusted for expected claim payments. Additional
adjustments will be made for any program changes in Medicare or Medicaid payments.

18.1. Supplemental payments for services provided by physicians at freestanding children's
hospitals serving children in planning district 8.

a. In addition to payments for physician services specified elsewhere in the State Plan,
DMAS shall make supplemental payments for pdysicians employed at a freestanding
children's hospital serving children in planning district 8 with more than 50 percent
Medicaid inpatient utilization in fiscal year 2014. This applies to physician practices
affiliated with Children's National Health System.

b. The supplemental Bayment amount for qualifying physician services shall be the
maximum allowed by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services to meet the
requirements of Section 1902(a)(30)(A) of the Social Security Act (the Act) that
Medicaid payments be “consistent with efficiency, economy, and quality of care.”
The methodology for determining allowable percent of Medicare rates and
distributing supplemental payments to qualifying providers is based on the Medicare
equivalent of the average commercial rate
described on the Medicaid.gov  website at
https://www.medicaid.gov/medicaid/financial-management/payment-limit-
demonstrations/index.html under the “Qualified Practitioner Services Average
Commercial Rate” section and in Supplement 6.

c.Supplemental payments shall be made quarterly no later than 90 days after the end of
the (iuarter. Any quarterly payment that would have been due prior to the approval date
shall be made no later than 90 days after the approval date.
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18.2 Supplemental payments for services provided by physicians at general acute care non-state
government owned hospitals.

a. In addition to payments for physician services specified elsewhere in the State Plan,
DMAS shall make supplemental payments for general acute care non-state
government owned hospitals. This applies to physician practices employed by or
under contract with general acute care non-state government owned hospitals.

b. The supplemental payment amount for qualifying physician services shall be
the maximum allowed by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services to meet
the requirements of Section 1902(a)(30)(A) of the Social Security Act (the Act)
that Medicaid payments be “consistent with efficiency, economy, and quality of ~
care.” The methodology for determining allowable percent of Medicare rates and
distributing supplemental payments to qualifying providers is based on the Medicare
equivalent of the average commercial rate described on the Medicaid.gov website
at https://www.medicaid.gov/medicaid/financial-management/payment-limit-
demonstrations/index.html under the “Qualified Practitioner Services Average
Commercial Rate” section and in Supplement 6.

c. Supplemental payments shall be made quarterly no later than 90 days after the end of the
quarter. Any quarterly payment that would have been due prior to the approval date shall
be made no later than 90 days after the approval date.
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(n.b. this page follows J.1 [now K] on Page 9 of 15, of Attachment 4.19-B)

J.

2. Targeted case management for Early Intervention (Part C) Children.

a. Targeted case management for children from birth to age three who have developmental delay who
are in need of early intervention is reimbursed at the lower of the state agency fee schedule or actual
charge (charge to the general public). The unit of service is monthly. All private and governmental fee-
for-service providers are reimbursed according to the same methodology. The agency’s rates were set as
of July 1, 2022, and are effective for services on or after that date. Rates are published on the agency’s
website at www.dmas.virginia.gov.

b. Case management may not be billed when it is an integral part of another Medicaid service including,
but not limited to, intensive community treatment services, and intensive in-home services for children
and adolescents.

c. Case management defined for another target group shall not be billed concurrently with this case
management service except for case management services for high risk infants provided under 12 VAC
30-50-410. Providers of early intervention case management shall coordinate services with providers of
case management services for high risk infants, pursuant to 12 VAC 30-50-410, to ensure that services
are not duplicated.

d. Each entity receiving payment for services as defined in Section 3.1-A will be required to furnish
the following to the Medicaid agency, upon request:
i. data, by practitioner, on the utilization by Medicaid beneficiaries of the services included in the
unit rate; and,

ii. cost information by practitioner.

Future rate updates will be based on information obtained from the providers. DMAS monitors the
provision of Targeted Case Management through Post-Payment Review (PPR). PPRs ensure that paid
services were rendered appropriately, in accordance with State and Federal policies and program
requirements, provided in a timely manner, and paid correctly.
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12 VAC 30-80-110

Reimbursement for Targeted Case Management for Seriously Mentally 11l Adults and Emotionally
Disturbed Children and for Youth At Risk of Serious Emotional Disturbance.

1. Targeted case management services for seriously mentally ill adults and emotionally disturbed
children defined in § 2 of Supplement 2 to Attachment 3.1-A or for youth at risk of serious
emotional disturbance defined in § 3 of Supplement 2 to Attachment 3.1-A, shall be reimbursed at
the lower of the State Agency Fee Schedule or the actual charge (charge to the general public). The
unit of service is monthly. All private and governmental fee-for-service providers are reimbursed
according to the same methodology. The agency’s rates were set as of July 1, 2022, and are effective
for services on or after that date. Rates are published on the agency’s website at
www.dmas.virginia.gov.

2. Case management for seriously mentally ill adults and emotionally disturbed children and for youth
at risk of serious emotional disturbance may not be billed when it is an integral part of another
Medicaid service including, but not limited to, intensive community treatment services , and
intensive in-home services for children and adolescents.

3. Case management defined for another target group shall not be billed concurrently with these case
management services.

4. Each provider receiving payment for these services will be required to furnish the following to
the Medicaid agency, upon request:
a. Data on the hourly utilization of these services furnished Medicaid members; and,
b. Cost information by practitioner furnishing these services.
5. Rate updates will be based on utilization and cost information obtained fromthe providers.
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12 VAC 30-80-110

Reimbursement Targeted Case Management for Individuals with Intellectual Disability.

1. Targeted case management for individuals with intellectual disability defined in § 4 of Supplement
2 to Attachment 3.1-A, shall be reimbursed at the lower of the State Agency Fee Schedule or the
actual charge (charge to the general public). The unit of service is monthly. All private and
governmental fee-for-service providers are reimbursed according to the same methodology. The
agency’s rates were set as of July 1, 2022, and are effective for services on or after that date. Rates
are published on the agency’s website at www.dmas.virginia.gov.
2. Case management for individuals with intellectual disability may not be billed when it is an
integral part of another Medicaid service.
3. Case management defined for another target group shall not be billed concurrently with this case
management service
4. Each provider receiving payment for this service will be required to furnish the following to the
Medicaid agency, upon request:
a. Data onthe hourly utilization of this service furnished Medicaid members; and,
b. Cost information by practitioner furnishing this service.
5. Rate updates will be based on utilization and cost information obtained from the providers
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12 VAC 30-80-110

Reimbursement for Targeted Case Management for Individuals with Developmental Disability

1. Targeted case management for individuals with developmental disability defined in 8 5 of
Supplement 2 to Attachment 3.1-A, shall be reimbursed at the lower of the State Agency Fee
Schedule or the actual charge (charge to the general public). The unit of service is monthly. All
private and governmental fee-for-service providers are reimbursed according to the same
methodology. The agency’s rates were set as of July 1, 2022, and are effective for services on or
after that date. Rates are published on the agency’s website at www.dmas.virginia.gov.

2. Case management for individuals with developmental disability may not be billed when it is an
integral part of another Medicaid service.

3. Case management defined for another target group shall not be billed concurrently with this case
management service.

4. Each entity receiving payment for this service will be required to furnish the following to the
Medicaid agency, upon request:

a. Data onthe hourly utilization of this service furnished Medicaid members; and,
b. Cost information by practitioner furnishing this service.

5. Rate updates will be based on information obtained from the providers.
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ESTABLISHMENT OF RATE PER VISIT

1. DMAS shall calculate the RBRVS-based fees using conversion factors (CFs) published from time to time
by CMS. CMS publishes separate CFs for Anesthesia services versus all other procedures and services.
DMAS shall adjust CMS’s CFs by additional factors for each sub-category as defined in Section 3(d) and
calculated according to section 3(c) so that no change in expenditure will result solely from the implementation
of the RBRVS-based fee schedule. DMAS may revise the additional factors when CMS updates its RVUs or
CFs so that no change in expenditure will result solely from such updates. Except for this adjustment, DMAS’
CFs shall be the same as those published from time to time by CMS. The calculation of the additional factors
shall be based on the assumption that no change in services provided will occur as a result of these changes
to the fee schedule.

2. For non-anesthesia services, the determination of the additional adjustment factors
for each applicable procedure and service sub-category required above shall be calculated with patient
claims data from the most recent period of time (at least six months) as the ratio of the estimated total
expenditures for the sub-category using DMAS fees divided by the estimated total expenditures for the sub-
category using Medicare fees:

a. The estimated amount of DMAS expenditures using MedicareZs fees is calculated using Medicare RVUs and
CFs without modification. For each procedure code and modifier combination that has RVU values published
by CMS, the RVU value is multiplied by the applicable Medicare CF published by the CMS to get the
estimated price that Medicare would pay for the service or procedure. The estimated Medicare fee for each
procedure code and modifier combination is then multiplied by the number of occurrences of the combination
in the DMAS patient claims. All expenditures by procedure code/modifier combination are summed to get the
total estimated amount DMAS expenditures would be using Medicare fees.

b. The estimated amount of DMAS expenditures, if DMAS used its existing fees, across all relevant procedure
codes and modifier combinations with RVU values is calculated as the sum of the existing DMAS fee
multiplied by the number of occurrences of the procedure code/modifier combination in DMAS patient claims.

¢. The relevant adjustment factor for the sub-category is equal to the ratio of the expenditure estimate
(based on DMAS fees in subdivision 3b of this subsection) to the expenditure estimate based on unmodified
CMS values in subdivision 3a of this subsection.

d. DMAS shall calculate separate additional adjustment factors for each sub-category. Sub-categories are
defined according to categorizations provided in the American Medical Association’s (AMA’s) annual
publication of the Current Procedural Terminology (CPT) as:

Q) Emergency Room Services defined as CPT codes 99281, 99282, 99283, 99284, and 99285;

2) Obstetrical/Gynecological Services (OBGYN) defined as Maternity Care and Delivery
procedures, Female Genital System procedures, Obstetrical/Gynecological-related radiological
procedures, and mammography procedures;
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3) Pediatric preventive services defined as Evaluation and Management (E&M)
procedures, excluding those listed in 2(d)(1) and 2(d)(6) of this subsection, in effect at the time
the service is provided, for recipients under age 21;

(@) Pediatric primary services defined as E&M procedures, excluding those listed in
subdivisions 2(d)(1), 2(d)(3), and 2(d)(6) of this subsection, in effect at the time the service is
provided, for recipients under age 21;

) Adult primary and preventive services defined as E&M procedures, excluding those listed
in 2(d)(1) and 2(d)(6) of this subsection, in effect at the time the service is provided, for
recipients age 21 and over;

(6) Effective July 1, 2019, psychiatric services in effect at the time the service is provided:;
and

(7) All other procedures defined as any remaining procedures set through the RBRV'S process.

3. For those services or procedures for which there are no established RVUs DMAS shall
approximate a reasonable relative value payment level by looking to similar existing relative
value fees. If DMAS is unable to establish a relative value payment level for any service or
procedure, the fee shall not be based on a RBRVS, but shall instead be based on the percent of
billed charges. The billed charges shall be multiplied by the Budget Neutral factor calculated in
Attachment 4.19-B, Supplement 4, page 2, paragraph 2. Billed charges shall not exceed the
provider’s usual and customary charges.

4. Fees shall not vary by geographic locality.
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A. Effective July 1, 2021, rates for psychiatric services shall be increased by 14.7 percent to
the equivalent of 110 percent of Medicare rates.

B. Effective July 1, 2021, the practitioner rates for anesthesiologists shall be increased to reflect the
equivalent of 70 percent of the 2019 Medicare rates.

C. Effective July 1, 2022, rates for OBGY N services shall be increased by 15%.

D. Effective July 1, 2022, rates for adult primary and preventive services defined as E&M
procedures, excluding those listed in 2(d)(1) and 2(d)(6) of this subsection, in effect at the time the
service is provided, for recipients age 21 and over shall be increased by 16.1% to reflect the
equivalent of 80% of the 2021 Medicare rates.

E. Effective July 1, 2022, rates for pediatric primary services defined as E&M procedures
excluding those listed in 2(d)(1), 2(d)(3), and 2(d)(6) of this subsection, in effect at the time the
service is provided, for recipients under age 21 shall be increased by 7.9% to reflect the equivalent
of 80% of the 2021 Medicare rates.

F. Effective July 1, 2022, rates for children’s covered vision care services defined as
ophthalmology procedures in effect at the time the service is provided, for recipients under age 21,
shall be increased by 30%.

Except as otherwise noted in the plan, state-developed fee schedule rates are the same for both
governmental and private providers of practitioner services. All rates are published in the DMAS
website, and may be found at: http://www.dmas.virginia.gov/ . The fee schedule for rates based on
the methodology described in this supplement tied to Medicare's annual update of RBRVS is updated
each July 1, based on the methodology described in this supplement.
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