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State Regulations for Community Doula Certification

Effective January 6, 2022, The Virginia Department of Health (VDH) established the minimum requirements to be considered a
certified doula in Virginia based on the core competencies for doula certification used by national organizations and community
based organizations in Virginia (See http://register.dls.virginia.gov/details.aspx?id=9636 ).

What is a community based-doula?
“Community-based doula" means a doula who
often has shared lived experiences and is trained
to provide extended, culturally congruent support to
families throughout pregnancy to include antepartum,
intrapartum, during labor and birth, and up to one year
postpartum.
"Doula" means a trained nonmedical
professional who provides continuous
physical, emotional, and informational
support to a pregnant person during
the antepartum or intrapartum period or
during the period up to one year
postpartum.

The Role of Virginia Department of Health (VDH)
The State Board of Health will approve a certifying
body that has adopted standards from a nationally
recognized organization for community-based doula
training and certification to establish certified doula
training and education programs and to approve or
accept continuing education courses for renewing
doula certification in Virginia.

The Virginia Certification Board (VCB) will serve as the

certifying body and will:

1. Maintain a registry of state-certified doulas that is
accessible to the public and displays the
certification status of doulas.

2. Submit to the State Board of Health an annual
report by the end of every fiscal year that
identifies the number of new and cumulative
state-certified doulas and the number of new and
cumulative training programs approved for the
purpose of providing doula certification.

Steps to Completing State-Certification

1. Applicants must complete all required trainings
facilitated by an approved training entity by VCB.

2. A State-Certified Doula Application must be
completed in its entirety.

3. Applicants will pay a Certification Fee of $100 to
the VCB.

4. The completed application, copies of certificates of
attendance, other required documents, and fee
must be sent to VCB. Applications will be open in
the Spring of 2022.

VCB
298 S. Progress Avenue
Harrisburg, PA 17109
Phone: 804-741-2319 * Fax: 717-540-4458
Website: www.vacertboard.org
Email: info@vacertboard.org

Applicant Eligibility and Requirements for State-Certification

Who can apply to become a state-certified doula?
Anyone! Any person seeking to be a state-certified doula must meet
the following qualifications and education requirements required by
VDH:
e Hold a certification as a certified doula from the VCB approved
by the State Board of Health and
e Complete at least 60 hours of doula training. Training shall be
provided by one or more entities approved by VCB approved by the
State Board of Health.

Training and Education Requirements (60 Hours):

Maternal and Infant Health Concepts and Approaches (2 hours)
Provision of perinatal support services from 1st trimester to twelve
months postpartum; provision of emotional and social support,
including navigating pregnancy loss

Maternal and Infant Health Concepts and Approaches (2 hours)
Provision of perinatal support services from 1st trimester to twelve
months postpartum; provision of emotional and social support,
including navigating pregnancy loss

Lactation anticipatory guidance and support (10 hours)

Service Coordination and System Navigation (20 hours)

e Provision of in-home prenatal and postpartum care support

e  Assessing psychosocial and health needs, including perinatal
mood and anxiety disorders (PMADs) screening

e  Goal setting and prioritization of psychosocial and health needs

o Antepartum (high-risk) maternal care support

e Labor support

e  Education and referrals for developmental screenings

e Resource navigation for wraparound services (i.e. intimate
partner violence, domestic violence, oral health, family
planning)

Health Promotion and Prevention (8 hours)
Provision of perinatal health education, Provision of newborn
parenting education, Provision of wellness and self-care coaching

Advocacy, Outreach and Engagement (5 hours)
Serving as an advocate for respectful maternal care, Intentional
reflection of the community served, Care coordination and social
service navigation, Provision of reproductive rights education,
informed choice and decision making, and birth planning, Child
abuse and neglect mandatory reporting

Communication (2 hours)
Respectful, client-centered maternal care, Active listening,
Navigating patient families, medical support staff, and other support
systems, Responding to challenges

Cultural Humility and Responsiveness (8 hours)
Intersectionality and cultural humility, including language access,
Health literacy, Trauma-informed care

Ethical Responsibilities and Professionalism (5 hours)
Code of Ethics, Standards of Practice, and HIPAA, Required charting
and documentation, Serving as an accountability partner
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